Posted on

West Indies clinch T/20 series over Sri Lanka

West Indies clinch T/20 series over Sri Lanka

Social Share

West Indies clinched the three-match CG Insurance T/20 series with a nervy three-wicket win over Sri Lank last Sunday night at the Coolidge Cricket Ground in Antigua.

Chasing 132 to win, the West Indies reached 134 for 7 with an over to spare. But the victory was not without some jittery moments, as another middle order batting crisis was played out for the third time in the series.

Evin Lewis and Lendl Simmons shared in a first wicket stand of 37. The West Indies reached 53 for 1 at the end of the power play. Then the Sri Lankan spinners went to work mesmerising the West Indies batting, which crawled to 105 for 7 in the 17th over. But Jason Holder, who finished on 14 not out, played out the threatening Pinnaduwage De Silva’s final over, then left it to Fabian Allen to belt Akila Dananjaya for three sixes in the 19th over.

Allen, who was miserly with 1 for 13 from his 4 overs, after given the task of opening the bowling when the Sri Lankans batted, was left not out on 21 from six balls. He was named player of the match.

Simmons, 26 and Lewis, 21, were the other scores of note in the West Indies’ reply.

Bowling for Sri Lanka, Lakshan Sandakan had 3 for 29, Pinnaduwage De Silva, 2 for 13 and Dushmantha Chameera, 2 for 23.

When Sri Lanka won the toss and chose to bat, they were restricted by some tight bowling by the West Indies, until Denesh Chandimal and Ashen Bandara posted an unbroken partnership of 85. Chandimal scored 54 not out and Bandara, 44 not out.

Allen, Kevin St Clair, Obed Mc Coy and Jason Holder, each took a wicket.

West Indies won the first match last Wednesday by four wickets before Sri Lanka bounced back to take the second by 43 runs on Friday.

In Wednesday’s opener, Sri Lanka got to 131 for 9 from their 20 overs. Pathum Nissanka scored 39 and Niroshan Dickwella, 33. Obed Mc Coy took 2 for 25.

In reply, West Indies scored 134 for 6 from 13.1 overs. Kieron Pollard his six consecutive sixes in his 38, while Jason Holder scored 29 not out, Evin Lewis, 28 and Simmons, 26. De Silva took 3 for 12 and Dananjaya, 3 for 62, including a hattrick.

And, on Friday, Sri Lanka posted 160 for 6 from their 20 overs. Danushka Gunathilak scored 56 and Nissanka, 37. Dwayne Bravo took 2 for 25.

West Indies in response scored 117 all out in 18.4 overs. Obed Mc Coy scored 23. For Sri Lanka, Wanindu Hasaranga took 3 for 17, Lakshan Sandakan, 3 for 10 and Dushmantha Chameera, 2 for 26.

Both teams will change gears and go into the One-Day format from this Wednesday (March 10) at the Sir Vivian Richards Cricket Stadium, also in Antigua. The second will played on Friday ( March 12) and the third, a day/night fixture on Sunday ( March 14), all at the same venue.