Posted on

Individual accolades distributed in 2017 Bequia Basketball Tournament

Individual accolades distributed in 2017 Bequia Basketball Tournament

Social Share

Those players who excelled in the various categories of adjudication in the 2017 Vita Malt Bequia Basketball Association’s Tournament were last Saturday night presented with their trophy awards.

The three Most Valuable Players’ (MVP) awards were pouched by Raptors’ Kirstin Lampkin in the First Division; Rising Stars’ Nicholas Lewis in the Second Division and Chad James of Young Wizards in the Under-16 Division.

Lampkin copped the award on the back of his 1,101 points, 101 rebounds, 16 assists, 25 steals and 13 blocked shots.

He won the most steals, most rebounds and was his team’s MVP.

Lewis, the Second Division MVP awardee, had the most points, the most rebounds, the most steals and copped his team’s MVP.

Meanwhile, James recorded the most steals, the most blocks and the most rebounds.

Other First Division awardees were Wizards’ Xavaughn Dennie, who scored the most points; Michael Peniston of East Blazers, the most assists; and Denroy Hutchins of Wizards – the most blocks.

Camal Bess of Raptors was voted Rookie of the Year and Leandru Charles was the winning coach awardee.

Completing the awards in the Second Division, were Jovian Derrick of Blazing Heat – most assists; Michael Peniston of Young Duke, the most improved player and the player with the most blocks.

Rising Stars’ Jadley Bynoe was the play-off series’ MVP and the winning coach was Tauran Ollivierre.

And, in the Under-16 Division, Darren John of Hawks had the most points and MVP of the play-off series.

 Keithroy Lavia was the winning coach recipient, while Jermaine John of Young Wizards  and Isiah Jack of Dragons, were presented with the “Most Enthusiastic Player” trophies via the acknowledgement of confectionery  vendor Alston Padmore.

The Under-16 MVPs were Giovanni Miller – Dragons; Darren John – Hawks, Kody Williams – Titans, Jerez Joseph – Hornets; Elton Wilson – Rockets and Chad James – Young Wizards.

Twelve teams participated in the tournament, three each in the First and Second Divisions and six in the Under-16.