Posted on

NLSA holds Joint Awards Ceremony

Social Share

The North Leeward Sports Association (NLSA) last Saturday night held a joint Presentation and Awards Ceremony for the 2010 VINLEC North Leeward Cricket and the 2010 Ruddy’s Electrical North Leeward Football Tournaments.{{more}}

The Beach Front Restaurant at Fitz Hughes was the venue, as outstanding performers were presented with the rewards for their efforts.

In the Cricket segment, the batsmen with the most runs were Jamuel Matthews of Peto Stars with 196; Rangel Small of Troumaca United, who scored 145 in total, and Christopher Campbell of Ruddy’s Electrical, who compiled 133.

Small also copped the Player of the Final, when he scored 52, took one wicket and hauled in a sensational catch.

The bowlers with the most wickets were Kenneth Dember, 19, Reginald Jeffrey, 16, and Jamal Nash, 14.

The 2010 VINLEC North Leeward Cricket Competition was won by Troumaca United, with Somerset of Fitz Hughes second.

In the Ruddy’s Electrical Football Competition, which was won by Outstanding Gauge of Barrouallie, which defeated Predators of Fitz Hughes in the final, saw a three way tie for the top goal scorer award.

Locked in the tie were Kelroy Richards, Ontonio John and Christopher Howe. All three players scored six goals each.

Howe, though, went on to tip the scale, as he was adjudged the Best Striker. The Best Defender was Velron Bobb, and Best Goal Keeper was Justin Caesar. Kevin Small was voted the Best Midfielder and the versatile Moet Gaymes, the Most Valuable Player of the Final.

During the awards, one minute silent was observed in respect of the passing of former National female cricketer Earlene “Queen” De Grads.

Dwight Roberts and Julius Anthony reported on the Football and Cricket tournaments, respectively.

There were addresses by the President of the SVG Football Federation Joseph Delves, Parliamentary Representative of North Leeward Roland Matthews, and Rudolph Daize, Managing Director, of Ruddy’s Electrical Company. (RT)