Posted on

CADO Softball Cricket Competition opens

CADO Softball Cricket Competition opens

Social Share

Nineteen teams will be trying to dethrone defending champions Glen United in the 2010 Calliaqua Area Development Organisation (CADO) Calliaqua Softball Cricket Competition.{{more}}

The ball got rolling last Saturday afternoon at the Calliaqua Playing Field, the competition’s venue, with a brief opening ceremony.

President of CADO Foster Hannibald, Director of Physical Education and Sports Nelson Hillocks, and competition sponsor Dr. Linton Lewis all gave brief addresses.

The first team to be assured of a recognition was debutant in the competition, the very popular outfit, Sea Operations Nar Fren Dem.

The lively Greiggs- based team was adjudged the Best Dressed Team on show.

Hannibald told SEARCHLIGHT that his organization would place a lot of emphasis on discipline.

Accordingly, the organizers have stipulated that any team which defaults two consecutive matches may face expulsion from the competition.

Additionally, the competition rules give umpires the authority to eject from the field of play any player who uses expletives, accuses the match officials of cheating or any other conduct which could bring the game into disrepute.

Hannibald said he is hoping that this year’s edition will be another successful venture, as it runs concurrently with the Netball competition, also under the CADO canopy.

Following the overall response to the Softball Cricket Competition, the teams have been divided equally into four zones.

Stashed in Zone One are defending champions Glen United One, Smashers Next Level, Just for d Fun and Old Trafford.

Nar Fren Dem, Clinchers, Arnos Vale, Glen United Two and All Stars compete in Zone Two.

RSVG Police, Street Fighters, Karaoke Groovers, W & J Construction, and S G de Freitas are vyeing for a semifinal spot from Zone Three.

Completing the list of the twenty registered teams are Unit One, Irie Travel, Dr. Thomas Injectors, Dynamic Girls and Outa Trouble.

Matches will be played on Saturdays and Sundays, a total of five matches per weekend. (RT)