Posted on

Table Tennis winners awarded

Table Tennis winners awarded

Social Share

The St. Vincent and the Grenadines Table Tennis Association (SVGTT) handed out $1,100 in prize money at the conclusion of the Tenth Jim Maloney Memorial Table Tennis Classic on Saturday, 13 December.{{more}}

National coach Bob Ballantyne retained the Jim Maloney Memorial Table Tennis senior trophy and won $500. He defeated veteran player Elliott Charles in the final by four games to zero (11-7; 11-9; 11-4; 13-11).

Charles received $300 for second place, while Romano Spencer and Kendall Charles received $150 each for placing third and fourth, respectively.

The SVGTT has a strict policy of not allowing junior players to participate in competitions that have cash prizes. Consequently, the country’s top junior players were not allowed to take part in the men’s open singles.

Kavir Gaymes captured the junior trophy by defeating Luc Velox three games to one (11-8; 7-11; 11-7; 11-8) in the Final, after Velox had defeated the defending champion Dominic Evans in a Semi final encounter.

D.J. Howard placed third.

The competition was held over two days on Friday 12 and Saturday 13 December at the Old Government Printery Building, Kingstown.

During a simple presentation ceremony immediately after the men’s final, SVGTT Secretary, Paul Velox, thanked Dennis Joshua, of Al Hap Shipping, and the Jim Maloney Memorial Foundation for sponsoring the Jim Maloney Memorial Classic for the 10th consecutive year.