Posted on

Cricketers get rewards

Cricketers get rewards

Social Share

The cream of the crop at the national domestic cricket programme were all rewarded for their efforts when the St. Vincent and the Grenadines Cricket Association staged its 2008 Presentation and Awards Ceremony at the Methodist Church Hall in Kingstown last Friday night, December 12.{{more}}

Awards were presented for achievements in the RBTT Premier Division, the Bottlers First Division, the National Lotteries Authority Neil Williams 20/20, the Zonal Under-19, the Zonal Under-15, and the Women’s competitions, held under the St. Vincent and the Grenadines Women’s Association, which will be soon amalgamated into the St. Vincent and the Grenadines Cricket Association.

Topping the awards in the Premier Division was O’Neil Thomas, of Police One, who had the Most Runs, 357. Most Wickets for the tenth consecutive year was Orlanzo Jackson, of MVC Rivals, with 59 wickets.

Jackson emerged once again as the Best All-rounder. He took home the Zepton Greaves Award for the fifth time in seven years.

The Best Bowling Average went to Alston Bobb, of Victors One. His returns were a miserly 6.55 runs per wicket.

Jackson, Thomas, Bob, Salvan Browne, Sunil Ambris, Lindon James and Delroy Johnson were the century makers, and received cash awards.

Jackson and Keswick Williams took seven wickets in an innings, while Jackson had three ten-wicket hauls and Bob, one.

MVC Rivals won the competition, with Victors One second, and the News Spartans, third.

In the Bottlers First Division, Rodney Lawrence, of Ruddy’s Electrical Unique Warriors, recorded the most runs, 434. He was also the Best All-rounder. The Most Wickets award was taken by Jabarri Johnson, of Radcliffe Too, with 39 wickets.

The title of Best Batting Average went to Allan-Dee Ballantyne, of Digicel Neil Williams Academy, with an average of 58.14 runs, while the Best Bowling Average of 4.47 runs per wicket was taken by Otis Tittle, of Victors Two.

Andy Harper and Desron Lavia, of Radcliffe Too, Javed Harry and Afram Byam, of Victors Two, Devane Warner and Ballantyne, of the Academy, Lawrence and Vernando Primus, of ASCO, all scored centuries, with Warner scoring two.

Jabarri Johnson, of Radcliffe Too, Harry, Morrison Matthews, of Clico A Level, and Jenry Ollivierre of Unique Warriors, got seven or more wickets in an innings, with Otis Tittle and Jeffrey Abraham, both of Victors Two, recording ten wickets or more in a match.

Log Masters retained the First Division title; Victors Two was second, and debutants The Academy, placed third.

The 20/20 was for the third successive year won by Victors One.

The Most Runs were scored by Salvan Brown, of Bequia Combine. He lashed 283 runs. He had the most boundaries, 10 sixes and 23 fours.

Rolando Wright, of Police, with 9 wickets, was the leading wicket-taker in cricket’s shortest form of competition.

The Glenroy” Hart” Durrant Team Award went to North Leeward, the winner of the Zonal Under-15. North Leeward also shared the Under-19 title with St. George in a rain affected final.

In the women’s segment, the award for Most Runs, 112, was snapped up by Cordel Jack. She had the healthy average of 112. Jack also recorded the Highest Individual Score, 96 not out.

The Most Wickets, seven, were taken by Rochelle John. She had the Best Bowling Figures, 5 for 18.

The Best All-rounder was Indomattie John, with 96 runs, at an average of 32, to go with her bowling, 5 for 69. Stacy Adams was the Most Improved Player.

Indomattie John scored the lone century in the knock-out competition, while Samantha Lynch had the highest aggregate of runs in the elimination round. She totalled 151. Jack was the highest wicket-taker and recorded the best bowling analysis. United Survivors won both competitions.

The ceremony was held under the patronage of Governor-General Sir Frederick Ballantyne.