Posted on

Hope continues Arnos Vale dominance

Hope continues Arnos Vale dominance

Social Share

With two titles – the much sought after league championship, the Knock Out title and two individual awards as bonuses, NEMWIL Hope International Football Club left the Arnos Vale Two Playing Field, last Saturday, the happiest bunch.{{more}}

They pocketed $4,000 for winning the Premiership title, and added $800 last Saturday after winning the final of the Knock-Out.

Hope, which featured several national players in their line up, met their Football foes Je Belle FC, as they 2008 Ju-C Pepsi Arnos Vale Football League came to an end.

It took a first half strike from national player Sean Glynn that made the difference on an afternoon that offered up indifferent play from both teams.

The speedy Glynn drifted in from the left side, side stepped two defenders before making the decisive shot.

Glynn was later named Player of the Final.

In addition, Hope’s veteran player and former national representative Rohan Keizer, walked away with the Most Goals Award, for the eight goals he netted.

But Keizer had to divide the honours with Je Belle’s Danroy Best, who also scored eight goals.

The win gave Hope the double, and re-established their dominance of the league, a dominance which they started in the late 1990’s.

It was also the second time that Je Belle had to perform the runner up role to Hope, as they had to settle for the second spot in the league.

It was sweet revenge for Hope, who was handed two defeats by Je Belle. Hope was stopped by Je Belle in the Knock-Out round National Lotteries Authority South East League and suffered another in their march to the Arnos Vale League title.

Hope is also in line to bring home the South Leeward League, to follow on their second place in their South East sojourn.

Also, it was a welcome return to the League, which had to sit out the 2006 and 2007 seasons, as they watched the re-grassing of the venue.

Sharing the spotlight with Hope was Vintage FC. Those advanced in age showed the youngsters how it is done, as they blanked Roseans 1-0, to take the First Division title and $1,200.

System 3 copped the Under-17 trophy.

The diminutive national Under-17 player, Azhino Solomon, of System 3, was adjudged the Most Promising Player.

Vinlec High Voltage was named the Most Disciplined Team.

Orlando Williams, of Je Belle, who sustained a broken leg on the opening day of the league, August 23, received $300 from the organisers.

Last Saturday’s closing ceremony was addressed by Michael John, head of the organising committee of the league, and Nelson Hillocks, Director of Physical Education and Sports.

John, who is also an executive member of the St. Vincent and the Grenadines Football Federation, said that next year’s League should see a merger with the Sion Hill Football League, as the parent body puts into action its Strategic Development Plan for Football. (RT)