Posted on

Semi-final replay ordered in North Leeward cricket


RSVG Police and Robertson Surveying North Leeward Future Legends will have to do it all over again in the semi-final of the VINLEC North Leeward 20/20 cricket competition.

This after Future Legends’ protest for a replay of the semi-final was upheld.

The bone of contention was the awarding of 5 penalty runs to RSVG Police by umpire Dale Michael, as Future Legends was deemed to use time wasting tactics.

Responding to Future Legends’ protest letter, the North Leeward Sports Association, organisers of the tournament, summoned former West Indies umpire Goaland Greaves, to adjudicate in the matter.

Greaves, after examining the facts, agreed that there were signs of time wasting, however, the standing umpire failed to complete Law 41.9.2 of the Laws of Cricket, before awarding the 5 penalty runs.

As a consequence, the North Leeward Sports Association accepted Greaves’ recommendation, hence is facilitating the replay set for the Cumberland Playing Field on December 1.

The winner will meet Ajuba the following day in the grand finale.

When RSVG Police and Future Legends met last Sunday in their semi-final, the lawmen won by two wickets.

Future Legends had scored 141 for 6 from their 20 overs. Christopher Howe stoked 45 not out, and Marcus Castello and Rajiv Roberts, both scored 28.  Bowling for RSVG Police, Romario Bibby had 2 for 24.

In reply, RSVG Police made 144 for 8 off 19.5 overs. Rickford Walker hit a topscore of 55, while Desron Maloney scored 23.

Rajiv Roberts, who took 3 for 23 and Kevin Samuel, 2 for 33, were the most successful bowlers for Future Legends.

In the other semi-final, Ajuba defeated Kishore Shallow Coulls Hill Rangers by 152 runs.

 Ajuba made 211 for 5 off 20 overs, with Casmond Walters scoring 75, Chrisroy John, 71 and Asif Hooper, 26.

 Leon Quashie picked off 2 for 23 and Kishore Shallow, 2 for 36.

 Responding, Coulls Hill Rangers made 59 off 13.3 overs. Asif Hooper took 2 for 3 and Roneil Jeffery, 2 for 5.