Posted on

De Aussies land eighth Bequia 20/20 cricket title

De Aussies land eighth Bequia 20/20  cricket title


Knights Trading De Aussies regained the Hairoun Bequia 20/20 title on Sunday with a commanding 51-run win over 2017 champions Sugar Reef Bequia United.

Choosing to bat first at the Clive Tannis Playing Field, De Aussies rattled up 220 for 5 from their 20 overs. Dean Browne lashed 8 fours and 6 sixes in his 77, Razine Browne made 53 not out, striking 4 fours and 5 sixes, Julian Edwards, 28 and Shem Browne, 24.

Bowling for Bequia United, Leon Quashie took 3 for 32.

Bequia United’s response ended at 169 all out from16.3 overs. Mackenson Kydd struck 4 sixes in his 34, Jenry Ollivierre made 27, with 3 sixes, and Chelson Stowe lashed 4 sixes in his 24.

Razine Browne took 3 for 23, Dean Browne, 3 for 41 and Shem Browne, 2 for 37.

Sunday’s win was De Aussies eighth lien on the competition, including two hat-tricks.

De Aussies title path began in 2008, when they shared it with Youth Combine, and added wins in 2010, 2011, 2012, 2014, 2015 and 2016.

Third Place

  In the third place play-off that preceded the final, Port Elizabeth defeated Defenders by 80 runs.

Romano Pierre struck 96, Kimarlie Williams, 78 and Joseph Francis , 32, to take Port Elizabeth to 246 for 4 from their 20 overs.

Othneil Lewis, with 2 for 49, was De Defenders most successful bowler.

Lewis stroked 71 and Phillip Nanton, 26, as De Defenders made 166 for 8 from 17.3 overs.

Aaron Friday had figures of 3 for 28 and Romano Pierre, 2 for 37.

Pierre ended with the most runs in the competition – 501. Geron Wyllie of Dockside Marine captured the most wickets – 19.