Posted on

Winners declared in second edition of Road Tennis Blast

Winners declared in second edition of Road Tennis Blast


St Vincent and the Grenadines (SVG) hosted the second edition of the Capita Financial Road Tennis Blast, which culminated at the National Tennis Centre at Villa, last Saturday.

Held over from the previous night because of rain, the declared winners were Ahijah Blunt, his mother – Maudlyn Blunt, Anastacia White and Nimron Daniel.

Ahijah set the pace for his mother, by taking the Boys’ U-16, defeating Tyreke Gage 2-0 (21-14, 23-21).

Then Maudlyn retained her Women’s title, with a similar straight sets trumping of Samantha Lynch, 2-0 (21-16, 21-14).

Winning the Girls’ U-16 was Anastacia White, who recorded a 2-1(11-21, 24-22, 21-15) win over Kristianna Christopher in the final.

And, Nimron Daniel bettered Erran Arrindell to win the men’s final 2-0 (21-9, 21-13).

For winning the Boys’ Under-16, Ahijah collected a trophy and $500, while his mother added a trophy and $1,200 to her earnings.

White got a trophy and $500, with Daniel pocketing $2,000 and the first place trophy.

Meanwhile, the second places in the U-16s each got $200, with the second place in the Women’s earning $600 and second place in the men’s segment – $1,000.

 Losing semi- finalists

The losing semi-finalists in the four categories were all presented with cash prizes.

In the Boys’ U-16, the losing semi-finalists were dethroned champion Paulson Mack and Denzil Bascombe, who each received $100; so too did the corresponding losers in the Girls’ section, Kezia Blunt and Christiann Burke.

Also getting $100 for their efforts were the two losing semi-finalists in the Women’s bracket, Maria Abbot and Roxann Williams.

And getting $250 each were Olanzo Jackson and Sean Stanley, who lost to Arrindell and Daniel, respectively, in the semis.

The tournament, which was organized by the Professional Road Tennis Association of Barbados, saw over 70 persons participating.

Lasting six days, the tournament saw a preliminary round taking place at the Layou, Calliaqua and Chilli hard courts, with the remaining phases hosted at the National Tennis Centre at Villa.(RT)