Posted on

Simple Boyz go after fifth straight TBPO Softball Cricket title


Defending champions Gairy’s Construction Simple Boyz will be looking to make it five straight titles in the National Lotteries Authority Top Belair Progressive Organization’s 20/20 Softball Cricket Competition.

 Simple Boyz will have to contend with former gurus of the competition CGM Gallagher Novice, in Sunday’s final at the Dauphine Playing Field.

 Novice and Simple Boyz got their right to renew a long-standing rivalry, after successfully contesting their semi-finals on Sunday.

 Simple Boyz advanced to the final by beating Challengers by 123 runs.

 Simple Boyz, on the back of good contributions from Desron Maloney, who scored 48 not out, Nicos Davis, 42, Kentish Phillips, 32 and Jabari Cunningham, 26, posted 178 for 6 from their 20 overs.

Challengers’ most successful bowler was Colin Williams, who took 3 for 37.

 But Eldon Morris, 4 for 7, Jabari Cunningham, 2 for 11 and Kenny Hunte, 2 for 16, combined to dismiss Challengers for 55 in 12.3 overs.

 Meanwhile, Novice recorded a five-wicket win over Nice Radio Clinchers.

 Batting first, Clinchers made 88 all out in 19 overs, with Romano Pierre scoring 31. Bowling for Novice, Rolando Wright had 2 for 8 and Shirlon Pompey, 3 for 15.

 Novice responded with 92 for 5 in 15.1 overs, with a top score of 30 from Renrick Williams, while Peter Richards took 2 for 38, bowling for Clinchers.

 On Saturday, the last two quarter-final matches were contested, which resulted in Challengers and Clinchers gaining victories. Challengers won from Stingers by five wickets.

 Stingers made 81 all out in 18.2 overs, with Terrance Patterson scoring 40.

 Bowling for Challengers, Otis Hector had 3 for 12, Joalann Malcolm, 3 for 13 and Keno Matthews, 2 for 22.

 Challengers replied with 84 for 5 in 14 overs. Keno Matthews scored 21.

 Calbert Simon, who took 2 for 6 and Adonis Nanton, 2 for 15, were Stingers’ most successful bowlers.

 Then, Clinchers beat Sion Hill Tallawahs by 27 runs.

 Clinchers scored 145 all out from their 20 overs. Desron Spring made 28, Roger Gibson, 23, Okeiph Andrews, 22.

 Shawn Williams snared 3 for 19, Shamic Roberts, 2 for 16 and Kenson Dalzell, 2 for 29.

Sion Hill Tallawahs replied with 118 all out in 18. 2 overs. Shamic Roberts made 33 and Kerwin Williams, 23.

 Sharing the wickets for Clinchers were Danroy Fergus, who took 3 for 16, Desron Spring, 2 for 6, Donaldson Harry, 2 for 23 and Okeiph Andrews, 2 for 26.

 Clinchers and Challengers will meet to determine the third and fourth places.