Posted on

Hillside Rollers cop Calliaqua Football title

Hillside Rollers cop Calliaqua Football title


When goalkeeper Kevorn Jacobs parried the fifth kick from the penalty spot last Saturday night at the Calliaqua Playing Field, his save gave 1998 Hillside Rollers a 5-3 win in the shoot-out for the title of 2017 Franklyn Browne Valuation Services Calliaqua Football League champions.

Matched up against Franklyn Browne Valuation Services Strikers, 1998 Hillside Rollers took a first half lead through their talisman Zeddie Millington.

But Mickele Culzac and Noah Joseph hit second half goals to give Franklyn Browne Valuation Services Strikers the ascendancy.

A late penalty, converted by Sean Durham, sent the bruising encounter into extra time.

Not even the added time was able to unlock the 2-2 score-line, thus sending the match to be decided in kicks from the penalty spot.

1998 Hillside Rollers came through to the final, after a 2-1 win over Maxx Strikers in the semi-finals, in a high-tempered match.

On their final step to last Saturday’s final, Franklyn Browne Valuation Services, eased past National Properties Fair Hall, 3-1.

Fair Hall went on to take the third place, after they were awarded the play-off match, as Maxx Strikers were deemed to have insufficient players last Saturday.

Teams await an announcement from organizers as to the date and venue for the presentation of prizes won in the competition.