Posted on

Police take custody of VINLEC North Leeward Cricket title

Police take custody of VINLEC North Leeward Cricket title


RSVG Police were large and in charge, last Sunday afternoon at the Cumberland Playing Field, as the law enforcers took custody of the 2017 VINLEC North Leeward T20 Cricket title.

A five-wicket triumph over Ajuba of Spring Village landed RSVG Police the top prize.

Ajuba scored a modest 120 for 9 off their 20 overs. Casmond Walters top scored with 31, while Kimalie Williams and Kenny Stapleton contributed 22 each.

Police’s bowling was led by Casnel Morris, who grabbed 3 for 20, Sylvan Spencer, 2 for 14 and Kevin Abraham, 2 for 31.

RSVG Police crossed the line at 121 for 5, with 11 balls to spare.

Player of the Final Salvan Browne stroked 44 not out and Desron Maloney, 37.

Earlier in the day, Ajuba assured that there would have been a new champion when they ousted last year’s winners, Sweetie Pie Bakery Peto Stars, by 48 runs, in the last semi-final.

Ajuba had scored 89 for 5 off 10 overs, as the match was reduced to 10 overs per innings because of the wet conditions. Kenny Stapleton led with 32.

In response, Peto Stars crashed to 41 all out off 10 overs. Asif Hooper took 3 for 6, Kimalie Williams, 2 for 7 and Reginald Jeffery, 2 for 8.

Ajuba had advanced to the last four with a five-run victory over Carlos James Troumaca Starlight on Saturday.

Hooper slammed 76 not out and Chrisroy John, 34, to see Ajuba to 148 for 5 from their maximum 20 overs.

Javon Samuel took 2 for 26, bowling for Starlight, whose innings stopped at 113 for 7 off 16 overs, as the match was curtailed because of rain.

Leshawn Lewis had a top score of 54, batting for Troumaca Starlight.

Hooper had figures of 2 for 13, Ronaldo Franklyn, 2 for 18 and Casmond Walters, 2 for 22.

RSVG Police were first to reach the final on Saturday, with a 31-run victory over Robertson Surveying Future Legends of Rose Hall.

Police posted 193 for 6 off 20 overs, as Nigel Small stroked 56, and Sylvan Spencer, 28 not out. Bennitton Stapleton took 3 for 49.

Future Legends, despite Winston Samuel’s 54 not out and Zane Edwards’ 20, could only reach 162 for 9 off 20 overs.

 Nigel Small’s 2 for 14, Darius Martin’s 2 for 26 and Sylvan Spencer’s 2 for 47 combined to stifle Future Legends’ batting.

At the end of last Sunday’s final, both RSVG Police and Ajuba were presented with their trophies and medals.

The North Leeward Sports and Cultural Organization has announced that full awards for the cricket competition will be held at a later date, during the organization’s annual Awards and Presentation Ceremony.