Posted on

Humble Lions replay and double Marriaqua Football titles

Humble Lions replay and double Marriaqua Football titles


Two goals each from Azhino Solomon and Kewon Clarke and another from Olanzo Bute landed Humble Lions One the Premier Division title of the Marriaqua Football League, again.

Humble Lions One stayed in charge of the league title, confirming their strength with a commanding 5-2 win over Marriaqua Future Stars last Sunday at the Cane End Playing Field.

Adamo Johnson and Shem Dascent scored the consolation items for Marriaqua Future Stars.

It was Humble Lions One’s second piece of silverware for the tournament, as they had already secured the knockout crown.

Therefore, they added the league and $2,500 to the trophy gained from the knockout.

Third, behind Humble Lions One and Marriaqua Future Stars, was Cane End Gunners.

Marriaqua Future Stars collected a trophy and $1,500, while Cane End Gunners garnered $1,000 and a trophy.

Taking the Under-15 Division were SV United. Second were Greiggs and third, Richland Park Pride and Joy.

In the Under-20, Richland Park Pride and Joy were first, pocketing $600; Humble Lions second, getting $300 and Marriaqua Future Stars earned $200 for placing third.

In the awards ceremony which followed last Sunday’s final, Javon Lynch of Humble Lions One’s was voted the Premier Division’s Best Goalkeeper; Kenton Peters of Marriaqua Future Stars, Best Defender and Brad Richards of Humble Lions One, Best Midfielder.

Omar Thomas of Cane End Gunners, with his 15 goals, was the top goal getter and Azhino Solomon was named the tournament’s Most Valuable Player.

Among the awards in the Under-15 Division, Uruel Matthias was named Best Defender and Travis Thompson, Best Midfielder. Matthias and Thompson represented SV United.

Jemar Williams of Richland Park Pride and Joy was named the Best Goalkeeper and Rackeem Delpesche of Greiggs, with 12 goals, was the Leading Goal Scorer.

The list of awards in the Under-20 Division saw Anthony Hazell of Pride and Joy, the Best Goalkeeper; Pamenos Browne of Pride and  Joy, Best Defender and Erel Hector of Humble Lions Two, the Best Midfielder.

And, Benjamin Williams of Humble Lions Two and Raheim Westfield of Humble Lions Two were locked on five goals each, to share the award for most goals.

 The tournament, which featured 26 teams, 16 in the Premier Division and five each in the Under-15 and Under-20 Divisions, was sponsored by the National Lotteries Authority, FLOW, Hairoun Brewery, COMPUTEC, Kirk DaSilva and RUFF-Ice Sound System.