Posted on

BBA elects new executive

BBA elects new executive


A new executive to administer Bequia basketball, for the 2017 to 2019 term, was elected Last Monday at the Bequia District Council’s Office, at the association’s Annual General Meeting (AGM).

Long-standing president of the Bequia Basketball Association (BBA) Sabrina Mitchell was re-elected, uncontested, to lead the organization for another term.

Cornelius Farrell and Colson Peters were also re-elected, as vice-president and treasurer respectively.

Newcomer Givin Forde was elected secretary, and Anthony Sargeant as secretary-treasurer.

 Meanwhile, Delwain Simmons was re-elected games secretary and Kelan Edwards was also returned as the players’ representative.

 The elections saw four appointed positions filled.

Ulrick Gurley was named as the assistant games secretary, with three committee members in Leandru Charles, Sydian Warner and Vernell Phillips included.

The Annual General Meeting was represented by 11 teams: East Blazers, Rising Stars, Raptors, Wizards, Blazing Heat, Southern Stars, Young Duke, Titans, Dragons, Rockets, and Young Wizards.

Apart from the elections, the AGM included the President’s Report and a detailed assessment of the financial statements of the BBA.

The annual BBA tournament, going into its 19th consecutive season, opens July 15 and runs to August 27.