Posted on

SVG, Dominica share Windwards Senior Men’s Cricket title

SVG, Dominica share Windwards Senior Men’s Cricket title


St Vincent and the Grenadines and host Dominica were declared joint champions of the Windward Islands Senior Men’s Cricket Tournament, which ended last Friday in Dominica.

SVG, after defeating St Lucia by an innings and two runs in their opening fixture, lost on first innings to Dominica, and won on first innings versus Grenada.

Meeting Dominica at Windsor Park, the hosts posted 256 all out from 82.2 overs.

Liam Sebastian stroked 64, Allick Athanaze, 45 and Jelarni Robinson, 44, while bowling for St Vincent and the Grenadines, Ray Jordan took 3 for 42, Kenneth Dember, 3 for 82 and Delorn Johnson, 2 for 46.

In response, St Vincent and the Grenadines packed it in at 103, with Donwell Hector scoring 29.

SVG’s batting was undone by Mervin Matthew, who had 4 for 24, Kavem Hodge, 3 for 23 and Liam Sebastian, 2 for 25.

Forced to follow on, St Vincent and the Grenadines fared better, reaching 285 for 6. Miles Bascombe registered 103 not out; Sunil Ambris hit 80 and Gidron Pope, 67.

For Dominica, Tyrone Theophile got 2 for 58 and Kavem Hodge, 2 for 86.

This set up a final round showdown for the title, as neither SVG nor Dominica could have afforded even losing on first innings if they wanted to secure the top place.

As it turned out, SVG could only take first innings honours from Grenada at Windsor Park, but Dominica went better, beating St Lucia by six wickets at Benjamin Park.

Grenada, batting first, scored 172, with Ryan John hitting 52 and Roland Cato, 45.

SVG’s bowling was led by Kenneth Dember’s 5 for 35, Ray Jordan, 2 for 29 and Asif Hooper, 2 for 65.

Responding to Grenada’s total, St Vincent and the Grenadines flourished, posting 271. Sunil Ambris top scored with 114 and Dember, 38.

Leading Grenada’s bowling was Daniel Mc Donald, who snared 3 for 65, while Rudolph Paul had 2 for 34 and Josh Thomas, 2 for 52.

Grenada, batting a second time, were 241 for 6 when the match ended. Ryan John, 60 and Rudolph Paul, 38, were the main contributors.

With SVG failing to get the full points, Dominica achieved the maximum, thus sharing the title.

Dominica got up to 320, thanks to the combined efforts with the bat from Tyrone Theophile, 75, Allick Athanaze, 66 and Vincent Lewis, 54.

St Lucia’s bowling was led by Audy Alexander, who took 4 for 106, Dornan Edward, 2 for 43 and Larry Edward, 2 for 79.

Tarryck Gabriel then pulped 103 and Kimani Melius, 35, but there was insufficient support from the others, as St Lucia were dismissed for 218.

Doing the damage for Dominica was Liam Sebastian, who bagged 7 for 51 and Tyrone Theophile, 2 for 68.

Following on, St Lucia fared worse, bowing out at 204; Audy Alexander hit 43, Jamal James, 41, Kimani Melinus, 36 and Keddy Lesporis, 30.

Athanaze took 4 for 10, Sebastian, 3 for 40 and Theophile, 2 for 60.

Dominica reached the winning target of 103, losing four wickets in the process.

Dominica had lost out to Grenada on first innings in their opening fixture.