Posted on

Four new faces in SVG’s senior men’s cricket team

Four new faces in SVG’s senior men’s cricket team


Four newcomers have been included in the St Vincent and the Grenadines team for the Windward Islands tournament, set for Dominica, May 20 to 26.

The four are wicketkeeper-batsman Seon Sween, opening batsmen Romano Pierre and Rickford Walker and fast bowler Ray Jordan.

The quartet was given the nod by the selection panel headed by Roland Wilkinson, and which also includes Lance John, Nixon Mc Lean, Rommel Currency and William “Bill” Edwards.

Sween, Pierre and Jordan are all former St Vincent and the Grenadines and Windwards Under-19 players, with Jordan going a step further, having played for the West Indies U-19 at the 2014 ICC World Cup.

Walker and Sween represent Guardian General Saints, while Pierre plays for FLOW Radcliffe and Jordan, Victors One.

Leading the SVG’s team for the second year is Saints’ representative Sunil Ambris, with his fellow Windward Islands Volcanoes teammate Delorn Johnson of Radcliffe, the vice-captain.

The rest of the team is Miles Bascombe, Shaquille Browne and Donwell Hector of Victors One; Wayne Harper and Gidron Pope – Radcliffe, along with the Team Rivals pair of Asif Hooper and Obed Mc Coy and Kenneth Dember – Police Two.

The three reserves are Othniel Lewis – Radcliffe, Desron Maloney – Police Two and Roneil Jeffrey – Team Rivals.

Nixon Mc Lean will be the team’s coach and Elvis Browne the manager.

St Lucia won the 2016 tournament.