Posted on

16 teams battle for Premier Division honours in MFL

16 teams  battle for Premier  Division  honours in MFL


Sixteen teams, lodged in two zones, are after title honours in the Premier Division of the fifth edition of the National Lotteries Authority/FLOW/Hairoun/COMPUTEC/Kirk Da Silva/RUFF-I Sound System Marriaqua Football League (MFL).

The league got going last Sunday at the Cane End Playing Field, with the promise of increased prize monies to the winning outfit.

In store for the champion is a cash prize of $2,500, up from $2,000.

Similarly, the knockout competition will see an increased award for the first place team, from $500 to $750.

President of the Marriaqua Football League Yosiah Dascent told the gathering at last opening ceremony that the improvement in payouts is possible because of the number of sponsors that are on board for the league.

Pouching two honours on the afternoon was Downstreet, as they were adjudged the Best Dressed Team on parade and won the opening fixture versus Tallawahs.

Downstreet, from the Glenside area of the Marriaqua Valley, came from a goal down to beat Tallawahs of Freeland, 5-1.

Kurtland Williams scored twice, and there was a goal each by Mikey Browne, Yomani Harris and Deandre Smith. Alex John netted the lone goal for Tallawahs.

Downstreet and Tallawahs are in Zone B of the competition. The zone is completed by QCESCO, Country Meet Town Outa Trouble, Richland Park Pride and Joy Two, Humble Lions, Gunners, Greiggs One and Evesham.

Defending champions Humble Lions One, Richland Park Pride and Joy One, Fairbaine, Marriaqua Future Stars, Greiggs Two, Top Dog Strikers, Fair Hall and Belmont are contesting Zone A.

Apart from the Premier Division, there will be competition in the Under-13, Under-15 and Under-20 Divisions.

At Sunday’s opening, remarks were also delivered by president of the St Vincent and the Grenadines Football Federation Venold Combs and former member of Parliament for the Marriaqua constituency Girlyn Miguel.