Posted on

SVG Masters pouch Carriacou 20/20 Cricket Festival title

SVG Masters pouch Carriacou 20/20 Cricket Festival title


SVG Masters, a composite of the SVG Masters Cricket competition and North East Masters, copped the 2017 Carriacou 20/20 Cricket Festival title.

Playing unblemished at the Hillsborough Recreation Grounds, SVG Masters completed their fifth straight win in the competition with a narrow four-run trumping over New York Masters last Sunday afternoon.

New York Masters were restricted to 182 for 6 from their 20 overs, in search of 187.

Dawnley Joseph, with 96, put New York Masters in the hunt, but he did not get the necessary support at the other end.

Deighton Butler was SVG Masters’ best bowler in the victory efforts, taking 2 for 28, while Olanzo Jackson and Harvey Pope had a wicket each.

When SVG Masters batted, Butler stroked a top score of 35, while Jackson hit 32; Arnold Gilkes made 25 and Elton Williams, 22.

Bowling for New York Masters, Thomas Kentish snared 2 for 30.

SVG Masters earned themselves US$4,000 and New York Masters, $2,000.

Before getting to the final, SVG Masters had the better of another Vincentian outfit – Vincy LOG Masters, winning by 51 runs in the semi-finals.

SVG Masters posted 167 for 7, from their 20 overs; Harvey Pope gor 72 and Isaac Haywood, 22.

Mc Neil Morgan took 2 for 24, Elvis Browne, 2 for 26 and Leon Samuel, 2 for 31, bowling for Vincy LOG Masters.

In response, Vincy LOG Masters could only reach 121 for 6 in 19.4 overs, when the match was called off. SVG Masters’ captain Olanzo Jackson collected 5 for 26.

Jackson was the Top Wicket-taker in the competition, grabbing 12 wickets and had the best bowling average.

Delroy Morgan of New York Masters was the Leading Run-scorer and the only player to hit a century.

SVG Masters and Vincy LOG Masters were two of four Vincentian teams participating, with the other being Mustique Masters and RSVG Police.

The other competing teams, in what was the eighth staging of the Carriacou 20/20 Cricket Festival, were Brooklyn Masters, St Andrews Masters, Grenada Masters and Victoria Masters.