Posted on

SVGFF dishes out bounty of inter-community league’s awards

SVGFF dishes out bounty of  inter-community league’s awards


The standouts in the five divisions of the St Vincent and the Grenadines Football Federation were honoured last Sunday night at the Victoria Park, in an open-air presentation ceremony.

Taking hold of four of the individual awards in the new category – the Under-10 Division – were players of inaugural champions South Leeward.

Imani Miller won the awards for Best Defender and Most Goals, while Kadel Hector copped the Best Midfielder and Most Valuable Player of the Final awards.

East Kingstown’s Jafari Samuel got the nod as the division’s Best Goalkeeper.

In that division, Layou took the runner-up spot, while East Kingstown finished third and GECCU Calliaqua, fourth.

Further up in the age category – the Under-14 Division – the awards were shared among three league teams.

Mark Ellis of East Kingstown, the winning outfit, copped the Best Goalkeeper accolade, while Collin John of North Windward claimed the award for Best Defender.

North Windward’s Terronson Joseph braced the Best Midfielder title and Dante Constance, also of North Windward, snapped up the trophy for Most Goals, having scored seven goals.

East Kingstown’s Malik Ferdinand was named Player of the Final.

Placing behind East Kingstown and North Windward, were South Leeward, third and North Leeward, fourth.

The Under-18 Division saw North East’s Labon Velox taking the Best Goalkeeper award, with North Windward’s Thomas Lorraine, Best Defender; Terronson Joseph of North Windward was the Best Midfielder, while Marriaqua’s Benjamin Williams was the leading goal scorer with eight goals.

North Windward’s Jaden Jacobs was adjudged Player of the Final.

North Windward topped the division, ahead of Layou, Barrouallie and Marriaqua, in that order.

Among the seniors, the women’s competition was captured by West Kingstown. Second was South Leeward, with North Leeward, third and East Kingstown, fourth.

The individual awardees were Jessica Millar of West Kingstown – Best Goalkeeper; Angel Maxwell of South Leeward – Best Defender; Ranaecia Cuffy of South Leeward – Best Midfielder and Carena Noel of West Kingstown, the Top Goal-scorer. Noel’s tally was three goals.

West Kingstown’s Shelly Browne was adjudged Player of the Final.

The senior male component saw Desroy Peters of North Windward, accepting the award for Best Goalkeeper; Troy Jeffers of Layou – Best Defender, with Layou’s Teron Miller named Best Midfielder and taking the title for Most Goals was North Windward’s Kemron Osment, who had 12 goals.

Myron Samuel of Layou was adjudicated as Player of the Final.

Layou bossed the competition, with North Windward placed second, Calliaqua third and South Leeward, fourth.

All recipients got trophies and cash awards.

Sunday’s ceremony also saw the distribution of certificates attained during the most recent CONCACAF Goalkeepers and Futsal courses.