Posted on

RSVG Police nab Miller/Clarkson trophy again

RSVG Police nab Miller/Clarkson trophy again


It was indeed a Good Friday for the St Vincent and the Grenadines (SVG) law officers, as they locked down the Miller/Clarkson trophy for another year.{{more}}

Set up in 2009 by then commissioner of police in SVG Keith Miller and James Clarkson (Grenada), the trophy returned to the holders, the RSVG Police, for the fifth time.

A separate bilateral competition between the two islands, the contest took place last Friday at the Arnos Vale One Playing Field, during the hosting of the annual Regional Security Services Cricket Competition.

Sent in to bat, Grenada posted 151 for 5 from their 20 overs.

Providing reinforcement were Roland Cato, whose 57 included six fours and a double of sixes, while captain Randell Baptiste hit 37 and Lindon Lawrence contributed 32 to the team’s 151 from their 20 overs.

Elmore Alexander, 2 for 24 and Kenroy Martin, 2 for 24, were the most successful bowlers for the Vincentians.

In response, RSVG Police embarked on a clamp down with the bat, to post 153 for 3, with eight balls to spare.

Salvan Browne struck eight fours and a six in his 69 not out and Mc Leon Williams – 32, as they lay the base for the RSVG Police Force’s seven-wicket win.

Since the inception of the Miller/Clarkson silverware, the RSVG Police has won on each occasion.(RT)