Posted on

Team Rivals squeeze LIME Radcliffe in Super-40 rumble

Team Rivals squeeze LIME Radcliffe in Super-40 rumble


Team Rivals added a second successive lien on the Super-40 Cricket competition, when they recorded a 55-run win over LIME Radcliffe last Sunday at the Park Hill Playing Field, in a final dubbed “Rumble in D country.”{{more}}

Reset from the previous Sunday, as the rain had the final say, Rivals, who won the inaugural title in 2013, made the best of the proceedings.

Radcliffe’s captain Lindon James called right, and opted to send Rivals in to bat.

Rivals obliged by posting 205 for 8 from their overs.

This represented a recovery after they were 129 for 8 in the 30th over.

Marvin Small, with four boundaries, stroked 55 not out and Olanzo Jackson who also struck the same number of fours in his 35 not out, shared in a ninth wicket unbroken repair stand of 76, to eventually conjure up a respectable total.

Also making good contributions were Daren Greaves, whose 32 at the top of the order comprised two fours and a pair of sixes and Deighton Butler, with one four and two sixes contributed 22.

Bowling for Radcliffe, Jamel Nash had 3 for 51; Dyke Cato took 2 for 28 and Richie Richards – 2 for 29.

Skipper Lindon James then led from the front as he opened the innings, but his 76 made from 79 balls, in which he laced five fours and counted five sixes in 115 minutes at the crease, was not backed up by the others.

Except for Wesrick Strough who blasted 35, the others did not come to the ring. His breezy knock was punctuated with three fours and a pair of sixes.

The other batsman to reach double figures was Andrew Thomas, whose 18 runs came from 35 balls, adding one boundary and one six. Radcliffe’s chase was curtailed at 150 for 9.

Asif Hooper with 2 for 21, Casmond Walters­ – 2 for 22, Olanzo Jackson – 2 for 25 and Deighton Butler – 2 for 38, ensured that Radcliffe did not bolt.

Jackson was named Player of the Match.

Team Rivals, who copped an unprecedented three titles in 2013, has so far retained two of them, having already taken the National Lotteries Authority Premier Division crown.

Next in the chase is the Neil Williams Twenty/20 competition. (RT)