Posted on

Ruddy’s Electrical short-circuit Troumaca Starlight to take NL Cricket title

Ruddy’s Electrical short-circuit Troumaca Starlight to take NL Cricket title


Ruddy’s Electrical grounded out Carlos James Starlight by seven runs to power up the 2013 Vinlec North Leeward T-20 Cricket title last Sunday afternoon at the Petit Bordel Playing Field.{{more}}

The exuberant CJ Starlight inserted Ruddy’s Electrical after they had won the toss.

It was a decision which seemed to have paid off, for at the halfway mark of Ruddy’s Electrical’s innings, they were 50 for 4.

But Alston Bobb 20, in which he lashed 2 sixes and 1 four and Ian Allen – 38, comprising 3 fours and 3 sixes, gave the innings some spark.

Norlan Williams then became the livewire of Ruddy’s Electrical’s late power surge, as he jolted Starlight’s bowling to all parts of the relatively small venue.

Williams bolted 5 sixes and a solitary boundary in his 39 not out, made from only 12 balls.

He was severe on Dorson Cottle, whom he struck for three sixes on the trot.

Williams cameo pushed Ruddy’s Electrical to 144 all out, from 19.4 overs.

Bowling for Starlight, Phillip Anthony Jr grabbed 3 for 25 and Donald Delpesche and Zemron Providence both took 2 for 22.

With a partisan crowd urging them on, Starlight sparked off their response positively, racing to 63 for 2 in 10 overs.

In contrast to the Ruddy’s Electrical innings, the Starlight batsmen panicked as wickets fell with some frequency.

After their lead batsman J’ranie Haywood was stumped by Chrisroy John off the bowling of Alston Bobb for 23, Starlight experienced a batting power failure, and were short-circuited for 137 for 7, from their allotted 20 overs.

Donald Delpesche 22 and 19 extras added some current to the response.

Andre Hunte was the main resistor for Ruddy’s Electrical, as he collected 4 for 29.

The win by Ruddy’s Electrical adds to their 2009 lien on the title.(RT)