Posted on

Delorn Johnson delighted to earn West Indies A call-up

Delorn Johnson delighted  to earn West Indies A call-up


Vincentian Delorn Johnson has been selected to the “Test” squad for the West Indies A Team to tour India this month, and he relishes the occasion to show his worth.{{more}}

The 24-year-old Johnson, who turns 25 on September 15, said he will be looking to do his best on the tour, in the three tests which will be played between September 26 and October 12.

Acknowledging that he is in competition with others, the left arm fast bowler agreed, “I want to go out there and prove myself.”

Johnson was touted a few years ago as one of the players who was breaking down the doors of the selectors, urging them to let him in on a senior West Indies team spot.

During last year, playing for the West Indies A team and the WICB president’s XI in matches versus India, New Zealand and Australia, Johnson caused many to stop and take notice of him.

In his A team outing, Johnson snared 20 wickets for 375 runs at an average of 18.75 runs apiece, with his best bowling — a match winning effort of 6 for 34 against India A, here on his home soil at the Arnos Vale Playing Field.

Johnson’s reputation as prospective West Indies player was further heightened when he was invited by the WICB to be part of the West Indies training camp in Barbados in September, ahead of the World T-20 tournament in Sri Lanka.

His main rival then, Jason Holder, has since been elevated to the senior team.

But Johnson dropped down in the pecking order, as he did not make the cut when the West Indies A met Sri Lanka A in June of this year.

Johnson still has Barbadian Miguel Cummins and Jamaican Sheldon Cottrell as his contenders, as the West Indies go in search of a penetrative young fast bowler.

Both Cummins and Cottrell are on the team to India.

The West Indies A will once again be led by Barbadian Kirk Edwards, who oversaw the regional next in line outfit to a draw in the two “Test” series before clinching a three-match One-Day series 2-1, and a two-match T20 series 1-0.

The full team is Kirk Edwards (captain), Kieran Powell (vice-captain), Kraigg Brathwaite, Jonathan Carter, Sheldon Cottrell, Miguel Cummins, Narsingh Deonarine, Assad Fudadin, Jahmar Hamilton, Delorn Johnson, Leon Johnson, Nikita Miller, Veerasammy Permaul, Shane Shillingford and Chadwick Walton. (RT)