Posted on

New Kiddy Cricket champion to be crowned this Thursday

New Kiddy Cricket champion to be crowned this Thursday


A new winner will be crowned this Thursday, when eight schools will, from 9 a.m., vie for the title of 2013 Kiddy Cricket champion at the Arnos Vale Netball Complex.{{more}}

This, after last year’s winner, the Richland Park Government, were eliminated in the zonal play-offs.

Emerging from the preliminary phase are the zonal winners: the Bequia Anglican, Cane End Government, Belair Government, Park Hill Government, Owia Primary, Rose Hall Government, Pamelus Burke Primary and Buccament Government schools.

The schools will draw for their places in two groups of four.

The group stage involves a round robin format, with the two top teams from each group advancing to the semifinals.

The two winners of the semi-finals go forth to the final.

Before the matches, there will be the usual skills component, which involves target bowling and the playing of the off drive.

Following Thursday’s match, there will be the quiz competition, as the students’ theoretical knowledge of cricket is tested. The quiz is set for sometime in June.

From the programme, 60 players will be selected for a one-week camp during the August vacation.

And, the continuity takes root, as from that camp, the best would go on to the Grassroots Cricket initiative, already in place.(RT)