Posted on

Champs dumped in N. Leeward T20


Stanley Browne Ajuba ended the reign of 2011 champions of the VINLEC North Leeward Twenty20 Cricket tournament, Carlos James Troumaca United, Sunday at the Petit Bordel Playing Field, to ensure there will be a new winner in the final this coming Sunday.{{more}}

In a high-scoring semifinal match, Ajuba posted 198 for 9 off 20 overs. Walliston Stapleton cracked 75 and Roneil Jeffery hit 52. Doyle Mc Allister took 4 for 2, to be Troumaca United’s best bowler.

At their turn, Carlos James Troumaca United stopped one run short as they reached 197 for 4 off 20 overs, despite Sheldon Hooper’s 108.

But Troumaca will still have a presence in the final, as Carlos James Troumaca Starlight defeated RSVG Police by 7 wickets in the other semifinal.

Batting first, Police were dismissed for 132 off 17.1 overs with Rolando Wright making 33. Zemron Providence captured 4 for 17.

Carlos James Troumaca Starlight responded with 136 for 3 off 15 overs. Donald Delpesche made 40 not out and Shelton Hooper, 39.

In getting to the semi-finals, Carlos James Troumaca Starlight defeated Peto Stars by 7 runs on Saturday at the last of the quarterfinal matches.

Troumaca Starlight batted first and made 157 all out off 17.3 overs; Niclon Alexander led the way with 52 and Donald Delpesche, 47.

Allison Samuel took 4 for 30 and Shawn Lavia 3 for 26, bowling for Peto Stars, who were dismissed for 150 off 16.3 overs.

Jeffron White hit 37 and Jamuel Matthews, 25. Dorson Cottle took 4 for 42, bowling for Peto Stars.

Ajuba and CJ Troumaca Stalights meet from 12 noon on Sunday in the decider at the Petit Bordel Playing Field.