Posted on

Dem Boys of Mespo keep football title

Dem Boys of Mespo keep football title


Dem Boys of Mespo proved again that they are bastions of the Hairoun SVG Practical Institute Diamonites Village Football Competition, when they retained the title last Sunday at the Diamond Village Playing Field.{{more}}

It was Dem Boys of Mespo’s second bagging of the title, having won the inaugural competition last year.

But they had to do it the hard way; it took nervy penalty kicks to decide the winners, as they won 5-4 over Comsports Masters in sudden death.

Both teams had played to a 1-1 tie in regulation time, during intermittent rain, in front of a large and appreciative crowd.

Reginald Payne’s header had put Comsports Masters in the lead in the first half, but Amon Bascombe restored parity in the second half, with a close range stab in.

After the first round of penalty kicks, both teams were locked 4-4. Hezron Paynter missed from the spot for Comsports Masters, to give Dem Boys of Mespo the title, the silverware and $2,500. Comsport Masters had to settle for $1,500.

The win excited captain of Dem Boys of Mespo, J’var Francis, who told SEARCHLIGHT it is “inevitable” that his team will return in 2013 to complete the hat-trick.

“I am all excited about winning the competition for the second time; it is a very good feeling … And about winning next year, that’s inevitable,” Francis said.

But despite having to settle for the runner-up spot, Comsports Masters won several awards.

The team’s Reginald Payne won the Player of the Final award.

Also in the Comsports Masters trophy pouch, was the Best Defender award, won by Ezron Holder, while former national defender, Dexter Walker was the Leading Goal Scorer in the competition, with 9 goals.

Emerald George of fourth place team, Je Belle, was named the most valuable player and Theon Gordon, also of Je Belle, the best midfielder.

National senior men’s team volleyballer Cassius Franklyn, who represented third place outfit, DESCO Strikers, collected the Best Goalkeeper award.

Tyson Bynoe of Bay Road collected the Youth Player of the Competition award.

Apart from the trophies, all individual awardees were given $100.

South Rivers were adjudged the most disciplined team.

Area representative for South Central Windward, Saboto Caesar informed the large crowd that the field would be closed for about six months for major repairs to the outfield, where there is no grass. (RT)