Posted on

Aussies complete hat-trick in Bequia T/20

Aussies complete  hat-trick in Bequia T/20


Knights Trading Aussies registered title number four, and completed the hat-trick in the Hairoun Beer Bequia Twenty/20 Cricket Competition on Sunday at the Clive Tannis Playing Field, in a lopsided final against Admiralty Transport Youth Combine.{{more}}

Despite playing without some of their key players, it took the Aussies just 13.2 overs and three batsmen to reach the required target.

Player of the final Drumo Toney crashed 7 boundaries and cleared the ropes on eight occasions, as he struck 89 not out.

Toney, who opened the innings, and his captain Julian Edwards came together in the first over, after the loss of Shacky Greene with six runs on the board, and tallied another 135 runs.

Edwards joined in the carnage, as he struck six fours, in his knock of 38 not out.

Youth Combine’s 138 all out in 20 overs was always seen as below par, granted the small field and the short straight boundaries.

Player of the tournament Mc Neil Morgan scored 33, to be Youth Combine’s lead batsman. Jenry Ollivierre was the next best, with 21.

The Aussies conceded 33 extras, which helped Youth Combine’s batting cause.

All of the Aussies bowlers contributed, with Verden Baptiste taking 2 for 8; Braxie Browne snared 2 for 23. Toney stared the rot with his 2 for 29 and Rajiv Roberts picked 2 for 40.

Aussies won the title in 2008, when they were joint winners with Youth Combine.

At the brief presentation ceremony that followed, medals were presented to the most valuable players of each of the participating teams.

Mishack Williams took the award for Aussies; Chelston Stowe for Youth Combine; Adinol Richards for Royal Challengers; Deswayne Charles for Canouan; Cosmus Hackshaw for West Side Knockers; Glendell Greg for South Side United; Brian Henry for Manicou; Shirlon Pompey for Carib Stars; and Aldrick Pompey for Port Elizabeth.

The overall MVP Mc Neil Morgan registered 228 runs and raked in 12 wickets.

The Bequia Cricket Association also recognized Sylvannus Peters, who led the organization from 2000 to 2010.

Given his absence, the plaque was accepted on Peters’ behalf. (RT)