Posted on

Female cricketers set off on T/20 journey

Female cricketers set off on T/20 journey

Social Share

A fourteen member St Vincent and the Grenadines (SVG) female cricket team left here last Monday morning for Jamaica seeking to be the inaugural champions of the West Indies Cricket Board’s T/20 competition.{{more}}

The team is being led by seasoned player Cordel Jack. The others are Stacy Ann Adams, Shavone Clarke, Hazelann Foster, Myschia George, Samantha Lynch, Clea-Nasira Hoyte, Crystal John, Roshelle John, Sheree Ann John, Vinisha King, Terisha Lavia, Juliana Nero and Latoya Providence.

Adams, Providence and Crystal John are the new comers.

The coach is former SVG, Windwards and West Indies fast bowler, Nixon Mc Lean, with Josette Cambridge, the manager.

A confident Mc Lean told SEARCHLIGHT just before the team’s departure that his charges have what it takes to take the title.

“We have basically the same players from the past years, except for the three new comers, and our strength is at the top where we have the more experienced batters, and this type of format suits the players we have in the team,” Mc Lean reasoned.

Mc Lean believes that once the bowlers then hold their own, SVG can give a more than creditable performance.

SVG open their campaign against Trinidad and Tobago tomorrow, Wednesday at Kensington Park and on Thursday, they meet Grenada at Chedwin Park.

Dominica is the next assignment for the Vincentians and that match is carded for the Kensington Park on Saturday. They meet the St Lucians, their next opponents, on Sunday.

The Vincentians come up against the host on August 14 and the following day, they will meet Guyana, both at the Kensington Park venue.

SVG closes off the preliminary round with a meeting with Barbados, also at Kensington Park.

Saturday, August 18 is the day set aside for the finals, comprising the two top teams from the preliminary round.

The other remaining places are to be determined also on the final day, as third place plays fourth, fifth place plays the sixth place, and the seventh and eighth places contest the other slots.(RT)