Posted on

Ambris makes West Indies U-19 World Cup team

Ambris makes West Indies U-19 World Cup team


Vincentian batsman/ wicketkeeper Sunil Ambris has been selected to the West Indies Under-19 Cricket team for the 2012 ICC World Cup, to take place in Australia from August 11 to 26.{{more}}

Ambris, a right-handed top order batsman, who also keeps wicket, is part of the regional 15-member team.

Ambris is the wicketkeeping understudy to Trinidadian Steven Katwaroo.

Other Vincentians to have previously made the West Indies Under-19 World Cup team were Kenroy Martin, Dellorn Johnson and Darnley Grant.

The West Indies will be led by senior team test opening batsman, Barbadian Kraigg Braithwaite.

The right-handed Braithwaite has played nine test matches for the West Indies. Jamaican left-hander John Campbell, who will be Brathwaite’s opening partner, was named as Vice Captain. Both Braithwaite and Campbell played in the 2010 World Cup.

Keiron Joseph, a right-hander from Barbados is the other opener selected.

The middle-order shows left-handers Anthony Alleyne of Barbados, Akeal Hosein of Trinidad and Tobago and right-hander Kavem Hodge of Dominica.

The fast bowling department is served by the Barbadian pair of Kyle Mayers and Justin Greaves, who can be both classified as all-rounders.

Completing the set of quick bowlers are Jamaican Marquino Mindley, Barbadian Jerome Jones and Guyanese Ronsford Beaton.

The spin bowlers selected are Amir Khan of Guyana and Derome Davis of Trinidad and Tobago.

Former West Indies Captain and fast bowling legend, Jamaican Courtney Walsh will again be Team Manager with former Barbadian fast bowler Roddy Estwick as Head Coach.

The West Indies team will depart from Barbados next Tuesday, July 17. They will travel to Brisbane for a camp before the official pre-tournament matches. The West Indies have been drawn in Group C alongside India, Zimbabwe and Papua New Guinea.

The Under-19 World Cup began in 1988, and the 2012 edition will be the ninth.

The best showing for the West Indies was in the 2004 version, when they placed second to Pakistan.

Thus far, defending champion Australia has three titles; Pakistan and India have two each, and England, one. (RT)