Posted on

National Sports Awards set for April 28


The National Lotteries Authority National Sports Awards for performances for 2011, will take place at the Media Centre of the Arnos Vale Sports Complex, on the night of Saturday, April 28.{{more}}

National associations have until Friday March 9 to submit their nominations to the organizers, the National Sports Council.

This year’s ceremony will see the return of the Sports Photograph of the Year award, which has been absent for a few years.

Apart from the Sports Photograph of the Year, awards will be for the Junior and Senior Sportswoman of Year, the Junior and Senior Sportsman of the Year, the International Sports Personality of the Year and the Sports Personality of the Year.

Additionally, Coach of the Year, the Association of the Year, as well as the Groundsman of the Year and the Sports Journalist of the Year will be rewarded for their efforts in the year under review.

Determining the awards for the on field and on court performances is a panel of judges, headed by Chief Judge Lennox John.

The other members of the panel include Jacintha Ballantyne, Sonja Lewis, Deidre Myers, Woodrow Williams and Lennox Adams.

Dr Sherian Slater is the new chairperson of the organizing committee for the event of honour.

Pastor Sylvester King has already been named as the person doing the invocation, with the featured speaker to be decided at a later date.

The format of the ceremony will be similar to previous years, with addresses from the Prime Minister, the Minister of Sports, the Chairman of the National Lotteries Authority and the Chairman of the National Sports Council. (RT)