Posted on

Masters Knock Out T/20 Cricket Final this Sunday


The Royal St Vincent and the Grenadines Police Force and Stubbs will contest the Final of the Log Enterprises Winner Takes It All Masters Twenty/20 Cricket Championship on Sunday, February 5, at the Grammar School Playing Field.{{more}}

Both will be seeking to pocket the $1,000 at stake for the winner from 1:30 pm.

In last Sunday’s semi-final match at Grammar School Playing Field, RSVG Police defeated Sion Hill Masters by 29 runs.

The lawmen, the defending champions, batted first and posted a competitive 174 for 9 off 20 overs.

Parnel Browne top scored with 44, while Trevor Bailey made 26 not out, and Gosnel Cupid added 24. Bill Edwards captured 3 for 38 to be Sion Hill’s best bowler, supported Gary Matthias and Gary Rodriguez who took two wickets each.

In reply, Sion Hill closed on 145 for 9 from 20 overs. Keyon Jack, 32, and Gary Matthias contributed 25, as Parnel Browne claimed 3 for 26 bowling for the law officers.

The other semi-final match at the Buccament Playing Field, also on Sunday, ended with Stubbs getting past C K Greaves Vintage Arnos Vale by 21 runs.

Stubbs made 146 for 8 from 20-overs; Dawnley Joseph top scored with 51, Christopher Campbell and Leon Samuel chipped in with 28 runs each. Elson Crick grabbed 2 for 29, and McNeil Morgan finished with 2 for 31, bowling for Arnos Vale.

Arnos Vale limped to 125 for 8 off 20 overs, led by McNeil Morgan’s 61. Basil Andrews copped 3 for 18. Dave Stapleton took 2 for 16 bowling for Stubbs.

On Saturday, RSVG Police defeated Log Enterprises Kingstown by 32 runs in a quarter-final match at Buccament.

Police were 119 all out in 19.3-overs; Elgin Richards hit 32 and Parnel Browne weighed in with 22. Lawrence Shoy and Leopold Simmons took three wickets each for Kingstown, whose innings closed at 87 in 17 overs.

Elvis Browne grabbed three wickets, while Parnel Browne, Elgin Richards and Oneil Thomas each took two wickets.

And, at the Grammar School Playing Field, Stubbs defeated Rudy’s Electrical Barrouallie by eight wickets. Barrouallie posted 139 for 6 off 20 overs.

Ian Allen top scored with 38, while Lance John hit 36, and Leniff Hector made 24. Christopher Campbell was the main wicket-taker for Stubbs, claiming 3 for 29.

Stubbs then romped to 142 for 2 in 10.4-overs. Christopher Campbell, putting in a good all round performance, hit 54 not out, and was supported by Dave Stapleton who made 45.(RT)