Posted on

SVG completes the hat trick

SVG completes the hat trick


St Vincent and the Grenadines Senior Men’s Cricket team has won the Windwards two-day competition title for the third straight year.{{more}}

And, there was no better way to do it, than in front of a spattering of faithful spectators, last Thursday afternoon, at the Arnos Vale One Playing Field.

The Vincentians, though, had to dig deep to dismiss Grenada twice, to get maximum points, with the knowledge that St Lucia had already beaten Dominica, and had compiled 18 points.

Led by Alston Bobb’s 6 for 26 and 2 for 12 by Kenroy Peters, Grenada was dismissed for 99 in their second innings, after following on by 132 runs.

Only Heron Campbell with 46 and Devon Smith 28, saved the face of the Grenadians from total embarrassment.

Grenada had earlier in the day fallen for 105, responding to St Vincent and the Grenadines’ 237.

Kenroy Peters was the wrecker of the Grenadians innings, as he snared 7 for 9, from 13 overs.

In the Vincentians lone innings, Donwell Hector struck 69, Atticus Browne 54 and Lindon James 32.

Bowling for Grenada, Nellon Pascal took 3 for 53, Denis George 3 for 72 and Emond Alexander 2 for 41.

The outright win pushed the host to 22 points. St Vincent and the Grenadines got 4 points from a no decision against Dominica, and got first innings points (6), in their drawn encounter with St Lucia.

In the other match, which also ended last Thursday, and which was played at Arnos Vale Two, St Lucia beat Dominica by 34 runs in a low scoring affair.

St Lucia batted first and posted 91. Dalton Polius was the topscorer with 28, as Shane Shillingford bagged 6 for 23, and Liam Sebastian 3 for 17.

Dominica was then shot out for 46. Garey Mathurin took 6 for 12 and Xavier Gabriel 2 for 13.

St Lucia, batting a second time, made 80. Dominica’s bowling was led by Shillingford, who had 4 for 17, Sebastian 3 for 24 and Ray Casimir 2 for 26.

Set 125 to win, Dominica got to 90 all out. Garey Mathurin bagged 5 for 26, Xavier Gabriel 3 for 24 and Larry Edward 2 for 17.

The final points standings saw Grenada ending on 12 points and Dominica 7.

Grenada won on first innings against St Lucia and Dominica, while Dominica gained 4 points in their no decision with St Vincent and the Grenadines and 3 points in their drawn match with Grenada, after losing on first innings.

Salvan Browne was St Vincent and the Grenadines’ Most Valuable Player, with Mathurin copping the award for St Lucia, while Denis George did so for Grenada. Dominica ‘s MVP was Shane Shillingford.

Garey Mathurin was the top wicket taker with 20 scalps, and Devon Smith of Grenada, the leading batsman with 161 runs.(RT)