Posted on

Police crowned Kings of local Softball Cricket

Police crowned Kings of local Softball Cricket


RSVG Police claimed their fourth Softball Cricket title for 2011, last Saturday afternoon, when they dethroned Simple Boys, to take the National Lotteries Authority Top Belair Progressive Organisation crown, at the Dauphine Playing Field.{{more}}

In a replay of last year’s final, as well as the ASCO final earlier this year, the two were squaring off in what was billed the clash of the heavyweights.

But last Saturday, Police started slowly, and wickets fell regularly, as Simple Boys’ catching was near perfect.

A lower order cameo by Gerald Gould, who lashed 36 not out, dotted with 4 sixes, eventually saw Police to 108 for 8 from their 20 overs. Aiding Police’s total was 28 extras, conceded by Simple Boys.

Kenny Hunte, who took 3 for 12, Eldon Morris, 2 for 13 and Desron Maloney 2 for 39, shared the wickets for Simple Boys.

In reply, Simple Boys was restricted to 80 for 6 from their allotment of 20 overs, to lose by 28 runs.

Osrick James took 3 for 20, to be Police’s most successful bowler and was adjudged the Player of the Final.

Police earned themselves $2,000 and Simple Boys $1,000.

Last Saturday’s title win by Police followed their triumphs in the Barrouallie, Greiggs and ASCO competitions, all in the past twelve months.

At the Presentation Ceremony which followed, Desron Maloney of Simple Boys, with 218 runs, was named top batsman of the competition.

ASCO’s Osbourne Franklyn was the top bowler, as he accounted for 13 wickets.

The Most Promising Player was Keshun Da Silva of Simple Boys and the Most Disciplined Team, Georgie Valley Saints, received the Trevor Charles trophy.

The winners of each of the zones, along with the eight quarter-finalists were also rewarded with cash awards.

Zone A winner was Novice; Zone B – Bank of St Vincent and the Grenadines; Zone C Street Fighters and Zone D – Sting Power Nice Radio Clinchers. (RT)