Posted on

Five Cricketers of the Year named

Five  Cricketers of the Year named


The Five Cricketers of the Year for 2011 were announced last Saturday evening at the Methodist Church Hall in Kingstown, at the St. Vincent and the Grenadines Cricket Association’s Annual Presentation and Awards Ceremony.{{more}}

The five include top female cricketer, Juliana Nero, who was the top performer in the local women’s competition, and over the last twelve months performed creditably for the West Indies.

Also in the elite group is Sunil Ambris, who toured the United States and India with the West Indies Under-19 team and had a good outing with the Windwards in the West Indies Under-19 tournament in Guyana.

Joining the two West Indies players is Alston Bobb, who was Best All Rounder in the National Lotteries Authority RBTT Premier Division.

The temperamental Harley Skerritt, who demoted himself from the Premier Division to the First Division, had a bounty, scoring three centuries, recorded the most runs and had the best batting average, made it into the centre of recognition.

And rounding off the five is Gidron Pope, the St. Vincent and the Grenadines Under-15 captain, who also returns to the Windwards Under-15 team in the regional competition for the second year in succession.

Pope was identified among several young players in the region who received specialized training in St. Lucia in August.

Pope is a left-handed opening batsman who keeps wicket for the News Spartans in the Premier Division of the national competition.

He played a hand in helping the Georgetown Secondary School to retain the 2011 United Insurance Secondary Schools Cricket Competition. (RT)