Posted on

The Aussies are coming again


St. Vincent and the Grenadines will host Australia next year against the West Indies in three One-Day Internationals, at the Arnos Vale Playing Field.{{more}}

The three matches, the first of the five-match series, are set for Friday March 16, Sunday, March 18 and Tuesday, March 20.

The two other ODI’s are scheduled for the Beausejour Stadium in St. Lucia on Friday, March 23 and Sunday, March 25.

That St. Lucia venue will also host the first of two T/20 Internationals, on Tuesday, March 27, with the other played at the Kensington Oval in Barbados, on Friday, March 30.

The Kensington Oval, from April 17 to 21, will host the first of the two test matches, with the Queen’s Park Oval in Trinidad and Tobago, the venue for the second, from April 23 to 27.

The Guyana National Stadium at Providence will close out the test series with the third, April 23 to 27.

The visit of the Australians to St. Vincent and the Grenadines comes amidst fears that this country has been relegated to only the lowly rated teams.

Australia was the last highly ranked team to play at Arnos Vale, and that was in 2008.

In 2009, the venue was the host to a test match between the West Indies and Bangladesh.

Last year, St. Vincent and the Grenadines hosted three ODI’s between the West Indies and Zimbabwe.

Late last year, there were two unofficial tests between the West Indies A and Pakistan A.

The West Indies Women’s team and their Pakistani counterparts faced each other here in four ODIs during August and September of this year.

Later this month, West Indies A and Bangladesh A will be engaged in three ODI’s at the same Arnos Vale venue.

This year though, with the visits of Pakistan and India to the Caribbean, St. Vincent and the Grenadines did not feature on the itinerary, which all combined, involved two T/20 internationals, ten ODI’s and five test matches.

In total, twenty ODI’s have been contested at the Arnos Vale Playing Field, from 1981 to 2010.

One of the West Indies most successful grounds, the regional side has triumphed in seventeen, including thirteen consecutive wins from 1994 to 2004. (RT)