Posted on

Police seize Greiggs Softball title in dramatic fashion

Police seize Greiggs Softball title in  dramatic fashion


Everything seemed to have stopped at the Greiggs Playing Field last Sunday during the last over of the Finals of the Sea Operations SVG Limited Greiggs Twenty/20 Softball Cricket Championship.{{more}}

The large crowd which converged on the unique playing field, nestled among houses, with the main road being part of the playing area, got the attention from persons coming from attending a church harvest, as well as persons returning from a funeral, joining in the excitement.

The tense and final over bowled by Kevin Harry saw RSVG Police needing six runs from six balls against home team Sea Operations Nar Fren Dem One.

Buoyed by a partisan crowd, Nar Fren Dem eeked out two wickets, as the plot intensified, to leave Police 90 for 8, with one ball to go, and three runs still in deficit.

The script was perfectly written, as Police’s Saleme George deposited the ball into a nearby dwelling house to spark wild celebrations among the law officers.

It was Police’s third consecutive title, having already so far this year taken the Bagga and ASCO competitions.

In Police run chase, Trevor Bailey topscored with 25. Police were aided by the generosity of the Nar Fren Dem fielders, who floored several catches.

Kevin Harry, despite his infractions in the last over, took 4 for 21.

Nar Fren Dem, in the first stanza of the final, posted 92 for 7, with Keno Matthews making 24. Rolando Wright snared 2 for 23, bowling for Police.

The two set up their final meeting, with semi final wins, the previous day, Saturday.

Police ousted the 2010 champions Owia Shottaz by nine wickets.

Owia was dismissed for 43, with Rohan Lavia topscoring with 18. Osrick James was the pick of Police bowlers with 4 for 5, and Rolando Wright took 3 for 21.

Salvan Browne then slammed 32, as Police raced to 45 for 1.

Nar Fren Dem got into the finals, as they stopped Glen United by 22 runs.

Nar Fren Dem made 113 for 8, from their 20 overs. Mark Durrant, 19, and Zimron Humphrey, 18, were the principal scorers. Marcus Hackshaw, 2 for 9, Winston Bascombe, 2 for 23, and Kerwin Browne, 2 for 24, shared the wickets for Glen United.

In response, Glen United made 81, with Hyron Shallow making 20.

Keno Matthews, 4 for 17, and Krishna Da Silva, 3 for 2, bowled their team into the final .

Glen United went in to take the third place play off the easy way, as Owia Shottaz failed to show up. (RT)