Posted on

Ten more CFU officials to face FIFA probe


Ten more Caribbean Football Union (CFU) officials have been summoned to give evidence to FIFA’s Ethics Committee this month.{{more}}

FIFA said they wanted to interview the ten officials, from six Caribbean countries, as part of an investigation being conducted by the agency of former FBI director Louis Freeh.

Among the ten is Trinidad and Tobago Football Federation (TTFF) boss Oliver Camps, as well as Dominica Football Association President Patrick John, who is a former Prime Minister.

Oliver, who served as head of the TTFF since 1992, tendered his resignation last Thursday, October 27, one day after FIFA announced the launch of the new probe.

Others to answer to the Ethics Committee are Raymond Guishard and Damien Hughes of Anguilla; Everton Gonsalves and Derrick Gordon of Antigua; Lionel Haven of the Bahamas; Philippe White of Dominica, and Vincent Cassell and Tandica Hughes of Montserrat.

Gordon had put himself up as a candidate for the top CFU post, vacated by long-standing regional Football boss, Trinidadian Austin “Jack” Warner, who resigned in June, following the outbreak of the scandal.

The officials are being probed in relation to possible violations of the FIFA code of ethics in the case of what transpired at the special meeting of the CFU, held in Trinidad and Tobago on 10 and 11 May, 2011.

At this special meeting, then FIFA presidential candidate, Mohammed bin Hammam is alleged to have offered delegates US$40,000, in what was deemed a cash for vote move.

Last month, FIFA, following its continuing investigations, banned four CFU officials, including General Secretary of the SVGFF Ian Hypolite, who received a 15-day suspension and a fine of 300 Swiss Francs.

Franka Pickering of the British Virgin Islands, received an 18-month ban and was fined 500 Swiss Francs.

Horace Burrell, President of the Jamaica Football Federation (JFF), has been banned for a period of six months, with three months of the ban subject to a probationary period of two years.

Aubrey Liburd of the British Virgin Islands and Hillaren Frederick of the US Virgin Islands received a reprimand and a fine of 300 Swiss Francs. Anthony Johnson of St. Kitts and Nevis was reprimanded, but not fined.

David Hinds and Mark Bob Forde of Barbados, Richard Groden (Trinidad and Tobago), Yves Jean-Bart (Haiti) and Horace Reid (Jamaica) received warnings.

Former President of the SVGFF Joseph Delves and David Fredrick of the Cayman Islands had their cases against dropped, as they had since resigned from the posts in their organisations but should they return to any official positions, their cases will be reopened.

The hearing of Noel Adonis of Guyana has been postponed, while in the case of Patrick Mathurin of St. Lucia, FIFA stated that more information was required before they could have proceeded further. (RT)