Posted on

SVG to host West Indies and Pakistan Women cricketers

SVG to host West Indies and Pakistan Women cricketers


St. Vincent and the Grenadines will host four One-Day International Cricket matches between the West Indies and Pakistan, starting this Sunday, August 28, at the Arnos Vale Playing Field.{{more}}

Following Sunday’s match, the two teams will meet again next week Tuesday, August 30, with the other two ODI’s slated for Thursday, September 1 and Saturday, September 3.

All matches are of 50-over duration and are set to commence at 9:30 am.

Then, it will be the T/20 format, with two scheduled for Grenada’s Progress Park on Tuesday, September 6 and the other on Wednesday, September 7, both starting at 2:00 p.m.

Guyana National Stadium also hosts two T/20 matches on Saturday, September 10 and Sunday, September 11, but they will be day/night affairs, starting at 6:00 p.m.

The West Indies last week announced a fourteen-member team to take on the Pakistanis, with most of the familiar faces making up the regional outfit.

The team selected for the eight-match series includes Trinidadians Merissa Aguilleira, Anisa Mohammed, Brittney Copper and Stacy Ann King.

Four Barbadians are also selected: Deandra Dottin, Shakera Selman and newcomers Shaquana Quintyne and Kycia Knight.

Guyana and Jamaica both have two selectees each.

The Jamaicans are Stafanie Taylor and Shale Daley and the two Guyanese are Shemaine Campbelle and Tremayne Smartt.

St. Vincent and the Grenadines and Dominica have one player each, in Juliana Nero and Pearl Ettienne, respectively.

The West Indies team members are in the state engaged in preparation for the series, with the Pakistanis set to arrive on Thursday.

The Pakistan team reads: Sana Mir (captain), Javeria Khan, Asmavia Iqbal, Batool Fatima, Bismah Maroof, Kainat Imtiaz, Marina Iqbal, Masooma Junaid, Nain Abidi, Nida Dar, Qanita Jalil, Sadia Yousuf, Mariam Hassan and Rubiya Shah

It will be a test run for both teams, as they are both drawn in Group B of the ICC Women’s World Cup Qualifier from November 14 to 25 in Dhaka, Bangladesh. The two will compete among ten teams for four spots at the 2013 Cricket World Cup. Ireland, Japan and Bangladesh make up the other members of the group. (RT)