Posted on

Vincentians dominate OECS Squash team

Vincentians dominate OECS Squash team

Social Share

Eight Vincentians have been selected to the OECS team to this year’s Caribbean Area Squash Associations’ championship, which will take place in the Cayman Islands.{{more}}

The team comprises Kevin Hannaway and Kevin Bailey in the Men’s category; Tessa King-Shallow in the Women’s category; James Bentick, Veterans over 40; Keith Boyea, 50 and over; Leroy Lewis, 60 and over; and women’s 50 and over, Sherian Slater.

Jules Snagg, also of St. Vincent and the Grenadines, was named in the reserves among the men.

The other members of the sub-regional squad are Joe Kneipp and Joe Chapman of the BVI and Charlie Sonson of St. Lucia, who complete the men’s team.

Monique Lovell and Megan Pipe of St. Lucia, as well as Caroline Du Bois-Sorrentino and Zoe Sorrentino of the BVI, make up the remainder of the women’s team, which also has Mandy Attack of the BVI as the reserve player.

Lovell will compete in the Women’s 40 and over category.

In the 2010 edition, which was held in St. Vincent and the Grenadines, the OECS placed second in the men’s division, third in the women, veterans and team categories.

Also coming out of last year’s outing, Joe Chapman finished ninth in the men’s individual and James Bentick ended 12th.

Slater finished at the top of the women’s over 50 category, while Lewis placed third in the men’s 60 and over.

Barbados is the reigning team and women’s champion, with Bermuda, last year’s men’s title holder and Trinidad and Tobago returning as veterans’ category winners.

The OECS team was selected from the 2011 tournament which was held here at the National Lotteries Authority Squash Facility, Paul’s Avenue, two weekends ago, in which BVI derailed St. Vincent and the Grenadines and St. Lucia came in third in the overall standings. (RT)