Posted on

SVGFF recognizes eight football stalwarts

SVGFF recognizes eight football stalwarts


The Executive of the St. Vincent and the Grenadines Football Federation (SVGFF) has paid homage to eight stalwarts of the game.{{more}}

Last Saturday evening, at its awards ceremony for the 2010-2011 National Lotteries Authority National Club Championship, the Federation recognized those who have contributed to the sport over the years, at the Golden Apple Banquet Hall on Halifax Street, opposite the General Post Office.

Awards of appreciation in the form of plaques were presented to Errol “Nina” Neverson, Fred Trimmingham, Seymour “ Rollit” Waldron, Gideon “ Ragga” Horne, Leroy “ Sony King” Bailey, Victor Peters, Louis Boucher and Oscar Moss.

Neverson is a former trainer at the national level and has also made his mark as an aerobics instructor.

Trimmingham, Waldron and Horne played for St. Vincent and the Grenadines and went on to coach national teams.

Trimmingham represented Pastures in the local competitions, while Waldron played for Avenues. Horne is a former Honveds player.

On the other hand, Bailey, Peters, Boucher and Moss made their contributions as referees, in the local football competitions.

Moss, honoured posthumously, had an award given in his name, for his sterling efforts to the sport.

Fitz Gerald “John Hinds” King, became the first recipient of the Oscar Moss Award, for being regarded as the Most Committed Referee.

Unfortunately, at last Saturday’s ceremony, only Neverson was on hand to receive his award in person.

Last year, the SVGFF recognized the famed 1979 team, which placed second in the Caribbean Football Union’s Cup. (RT)