Posted on

Schools Football Final makes history

Schools Football Final makes history


The live television broadcast of the Under-21 Final of the 2010 Coca Cola Secondary Schools Football Tournament was a milestone for local football.{{more}}

The Dr. JP Eustace Memorial Secondary and the Central Leeward Secondary were the two schools which were part of that event last Sunday at the Victoria Park.

Both had emerged from their respective zones as winners.

But the match did not live up to the coverage it received, as it was a dull, unconstructed affair.

Much of the play was concentrated in the middle of the park, with little work for both goal keepers to do.

The Central Leeward custodian, Trevin Griffith, was called into action in the first half, as he had to parry a fierce shot from eventual Player of the Final, Nicol Stephens.

In the end, though, it was the Dr JP Eustace Memorial Secondary which prevailed through a second half header from their talisman Richard Roberts, and gave them a one nil triumph. Roberts claimed the top marksman award for his eight goal tally. It was the second year in succession he was doing so, after his exploits in 2009.

En route to the Final, Dr JP Eustace Memorial ousted the 2009 champions, the Bequia Seventh Day Adventist, 2-0, and the Central Leeward Secondary edged out the Bequia Community High School, 3-2.

The 2010 winners collected the Irvine Carr Shield, the first time the symbol was up for grabs.

Bequia Community High then went on to secure the third spot.

Sharing in the accolades in the Under-21 Division was the St. Martin’s Secondary School, which was adjudged the Most Disciplined Team, with the Georgetown Secondary, the dethroned champions, being the other zonal winners.

Damal Phillips of the Dr JP Eustace Memorial was voted the Outstanding Goal keeper of the Final.

The Under-21 Final was preceded by the Under-16 match up between the Bethel High School, winners of the 2009 title, and the Central Leeward Secondary.

Both teams displayed some level of construction, but neither could have sent their supporters jumping.

The Central Leeward team, winners of Zone B, looked the more accomplished, and came closest to converting on a few forays, both of their own, and others which were gifted.

The second half proved the turning point, as Oalex Anderson, as he has done all through the competition, mesmerized the Bethel High defence to score two goals. The second of the two was from the top drawer, as he beat two defenders before unleashing his shot with much aplomb.

Anderson’s goals gave his team a two nil win and the 2010 title. Anderson’s goals were scored in the 51st and 54th minutes.

Anderson was not the division’s top goal scorer, but was named the Most Outstanding forward, and collected the Jeff Bailey trophy.

The champion team’s goal keeper, Nanton Griffith, was named the Most Outstanding Goal keeper.

The Central Leeward Secondary got past the Emmanuel High Mespo, and the Bethel High stopped Sandy Bay Secondary, to set up Sunday’s finale.

Sandy Bay went on to cop the third place over the Emmanuel High Mespo, Zone A winners. The other zone winners were the Bethel High and the Thomas Saunders Secondary.

And the 2011 edition was assured sponsorship by the St. Vincent Brewery which was confirmed by Lamont Medica, a Brand Manager of the company.

Also addressing last Sunday’s event were Minister of National Mobilisation, Social Development, Family, Persons with Disabilities Youth, Sports and Culture Frederick Stephenson, Deputy Chief Education Officer Beverley Neptune, and General Secretary of the St. Vincent and the Grenadines Football Federation Ian Hypolite. (RT)