Posted on

Top Roseau unseats Walvaroo City

Top Roseau unseats  Walvaroo City


Top Roseau emerged winners of the 2010 Sion Hill Inter-Village Football competition, when they beat Walvaroo City 5-4 on penalties in the final at the Sion Hill Playing Field, last Sunday.{{more}}

In a replay of the 2009 final, both teams were buoyed by the support from their fellow villagers.

It did not take long for the Walvaroo City players and their supporters to be in glee as they scored early in the first half, through Dorian Dallaway.

The prolific Dallaway pounced on a through pass in the fourth minute of the match, which he calmly deposited into the net.

The match ebbed and flowed thereafter, with both goal keepers called into action regularly, while the battle for midfield dominance captured the large crowd’s attention.

But Dwayne Dennie equalized late in the second half from the penalty spot.

This, after defender Maxwell Chance was called for handling the ball in the box, taking evasive action from a missed kick by one of his team mates.

The match then went to the nerve-racking penalty kicks.

Top Roseau held their nerves and netted all five, while Randy Pierre, who marshalled his team’s midfield, throughout the match, was the villain, as he missed his kick from the spot, in his team’s fifth and decisive kick.

Top Roseau won the challenge trophy, a replica and $500, while the 2009 winners, Walvaroo City earned themselves a trophy and $300.

Despite his transgression, Randy Pierre of the losing finalists was named Player of the Final.

Dorian Dallaway and Top Roseau’s Delano Webb were joint top goal scorers with seven goals.

The Most Improved Goalkeeper was Kevron Jacobs of Top Roseau, who received the Presee’s Electrical award.

The best defender went to Village’s Kenroy Williams. Williams also shared the Most Disciplined Players’ award with Romano Nimblett of Mala Village.

Williams and Nimblett pocketed cash awards from East Kingstown representative, Arnhim Eustace.

Village was voted the Most Disciplined Team, and garnered $300, also compliments Eustace.

Village’s Juma Gilkes was adjudged the Best Midfielder.

Eustace and General Secretary of the St. Vincent and the Grenadines Football Federation(SVGFF) Ian Hypolite delivered brief remarks at the closing ceremony, which had a touch of entertainment, as the National Lotteries Sion Hill Euphonium added a new dimension to the ceremony with some sweet pan music. (RT)