Posted on

Under-16 Netball Training squad named


Four players with previous experience at representing St. Vincent and the Grenadines at the Caribbean Netball Association Jean Pierre Under-16 Tournament are among a squad of 19 listed to begin training for possible selection to this year’s tournament.{{more}}

The 2010 developmental tournament is set for St. Kitts and Nevis, from April 10 to 17.

The four are Carlene Douglas, of the Central Leeward Secondary School, who plays in the goal attack position; Annique John of the Troumaca Ontario Secondary School; Kaywana Charles of the Central Leeward Secondary School; as well as Maranda Spencer of the Thomas Saunders Secondary School.

John, a versatile player, dons the goal attack, wing attack and centre bibs, whenever she is called upon, while Spencer plays in the defence.

The squad also includes five other players from the Central Leeward Secondary School in the persons of Niacia Gordon, Amanda Ferdinand, Onielya Ferdinand, Janiel Ferdinand and Keinesha Browne.

The Campden Park Secondary School has representation from Mauricia Cuffy and Meshanda Creese.

Deneisha Gurley and Rosannia Stephens join Spencer as the representatives from the Thomas Saunders Secondary School.

Renecia Phillips hails from the Buccament Bay Secondary, with Chanise Hall being selected from the Dr. JP Eustace Memorial.

The other selectees are Mourissa Sandy of the St. Joseph’s Convent Kingstown, who was part of last year’s training squad, but did not make the final cut for the Barbados trip; Kadicia Samuel of the Emmanuel High Mespo; Khadijah Williams of the St. Joseph’s Convent Marriaqua and Deslyann Laborde of the St. Joseph’s Convent Marriaqua.

Selection was mainly done from the recently concluded Schools Netball Competition, as well as the national competition, run by the St. Vincent and the Grenadines Netball Association.

In last year’s tournament held in Barbados, St. Vincent and the Grenadines scored one win and that was over Grenada. It drew with St. Lucia, but lost to Trinidad and Tobago, Dominica, Barbados and Jamaica, in the match up of the seeded teams.

This country placed fifth then, slipping from third at the previous outing in 2008. (RT)