Posted on

Did cricketers snub the Cricket Awards Ceremony?


The Executive of the St. Vincent and the Grenadines Cricket Association found itself in an embarrassing situation last Saturday night, when several of the awardees did not show up at its Cricket Awards Ceremony.{{more}}

Notably absent was the Youth Cricketer of the Year Shamon Hooper of North Leeward, the Under-15 winners. Also absent was his team mate Kimali Williams, who copped the Best Batting Average and Central Windward’s Dominic Da Silva, who won the Best Bowling Average award.

Making a no-show was Cordell Jack of champion team United Survivors. Jack, the St. Vincent and the Grenadines Women’s Senior team captain, gained the most wickets, 11.

Jack was among the Five Cricketers of the Year, who were named.

Clea Hoyte of North Leeward, recorded the most runs, 102. Unfortunately, she was not on hand to receive her accolade.

Neither was she there to receive her award for making the highest individual score, 48 not out. Hoyte, for her efforts also copped the Best All Rounder award, for her 102 runs, and her 7 for 47, at an average of 6.71.

The lone female recipient present was Rochelle John of the second place team, JG Tigress. John had the best bowling figures, 4 for 8. (RT)