Posted on

Benjamin is the spotlight girl

Benjamin is the spotlight girl


Nine-year-old Dennessa Benjamin was the toast of the C&R Enterprises Sion Hill Netball Competition’s Closing and Presentation Ceremony, which took place last Sunday evening at the Sion Hill Hard Court.{{more}}

The diminutive Centre and Goal Shoot was adjudged the Most Disciplined Player in the competition, and received $200, compliments Parliamentary Representative for East Kingstown, Arnhim Eustace.

Benjamin, who plays for Struggling Youth Two, in Division Two of the competition, is a Grade Five student at the Barrouallie Government School, and was also adjudged her team’s Most Valuable Player.

Benjamin also was the recipient of two additional trophies and a cash award, donated by individuals of the community.

The competition, however, was anti-climatic, as RP Ballers did not have to sweat as they won the Pearson Education Division One Knockout title easily, after Gairy Construction ASCO One failed to field a team for the final.

It was a highly anticipated match, as RP Ballers had beaten their opponents in the League Final.

Taking the third spot in the league competition was Spotlight Girls.

Likewise, RP Ballers C and R Enterprise Sion Hill won both the League and Knockout of Division Two.

Last Friday, Sion Hill beat NLA Sydney Strikers 26-13, in the Knockout Final.

In the league race, Sea Operations Nar Fren Dem was second, and Sydney Strikers, third.

The Most Disciplined Team was Struggling Youths Two, who pocketed $200, also from the benevolence of Eustace.

The most goals in the competition were scored by Sion Hill’s Sandra Carrington, who netted 152.

Taking the MVP’s in Division One were Jasmine Frank – ASCO One, Florette Byron – Calliaqua United, Deborah Robinson- Everyready Future Stars, Anella Samuel- RP Ballers, Brean Croster – Strive On, Kelisha Barbour- Struggling Youths One, and Shanda Cain- Spotlight Girls.

Completing the recipients MVP’s in Division Two were, Cassandra Huggins- Sion Hill, Kemisha Maloney- NRPH Clinchers, Delani Sam- Nar Fren Dem, Molissa Ashton- KP Marine New Era Pepper Stars, Kinisha Stephens- Sydney Strikers, Dorcia Stay- Trendsetters and Deanna Williams- Nature Care Netters.

Sunday’s ceremony was addressed by Area Representative Arnhim Eustace, President of the St. Vincent and the Grenadines Netball Association Godfrey Harry and Byron Wilson of Pearson Education. (RT)