Posted on

Butler and Hector make Windwards T/ 20 squad

Butler and Hector make Windwards T/ 20 squad


Only two Vincentians made the cut in a 14-member Windwards team that has been selected to participate in the West Indies T/ 20 competition later this month.{{more}}

The two are middle order batsman Donwell Hector and left arm medium fast bowler, Deighton Butler.

The team, which will be captained by St. Lucian Darren Sammy, was announced last Sunday at the Arnos Vale One Playing Field, at the conclusion of the inaugural Winlott Inc. T/20 Windward Islands Competition, which was staged here from last Thursday.

Also included are Grenadians: Devon Smith, Lindon Lawrence, Rawl Lewis, Nellon Pascal and Andre Fletcher.

Smith and Fletcher did not participate in the competition, because of West Indies A team commitments.

Dominicans: Liam Sebastian and Shane Shillingford, were also selected.

Craigg Emmanuel, Johnson Charles, Keddy Lesporis, and Gairy Mathurin make up the St. Lucians selected. Four reserves have also been named, in Kesrick Williams and Kenroy Peters of SVG, Kirsten Casimir and Tyrone Theophile of Dominica.

Ian Allen is the team’s coach, and Sebastian Lockhart is the manager. They are from St. Vincent and the Grenadines and Dominica, respectively.

The Windwards is placed in Zone B, along with Barbados, the Combined Campuses and Colleges and Guyana.

The Windwards play Guyana on July 23, Barbados on July 25 and Guyana, July 29, but this time in Trinidad and Tobago.

The other Zone includes Trinidad and Tobago, Jamaica, the Leewards and guest team Canada.

The winners of the semi-finals will advance to the final, while the losing semi-finalists play a third-place play-off. Barbados will host the first eight games, from July 22 to 25 while the next eight will be held in Trinidad from July 28 to 31. August 1 is the reserve day for the final.

The winner of the West Indies Competition will represent the region at the Champions League Twenty20 in South Africa in September this year. Last year Trinidad and Tobago, the winners of the Stanford 20/20 qualified for the inaugural Champions League, hosted by India, and finished runners-up. (RT)