Posted on

Brooklyn wins Mayors T/20 Cup

Brooklyn wins Mayors T/20 Cup

Social Share

Brooklyn, captained by Vincentian Mark Audain, on Saturday, June 5, won the final of 2010 Twenty20 Mayors Cup.

In the final against the Bronx, Brooklyn was invited to take first strike, and scored 162 for 7 in their 20 overs.
Former Windward Islands youth player Grenadian Gregory Anthony top scored with 72. Romeo Deane, a former USA under 19 player, hit 29 and former Windwards batsman Kester Sylvester compiled 20.{{more}}

Bowling for the Bronx, former West Indies fast bowler Jermaine Lawson took 2 for 24, and Mohammad Nadir, 2 for 13.

Bronx in reply could only score 136 for 9. Vejay Sunerine, 55, was the only significant score. Andre Kirton took 4 for 13, as Brooklyn won the Mayors Cup Championship by 26 runs, a major achievement, as they had not held that title in a while.