Posted on

Kingstown wins Masters Cricket Title


Log Enterprises Kingstown Masters are the 2009 National Masters 20/20 champions.{{more}}

They took the championship last Sunday with a three-wicket win over Computec Belfongo at the Arnos Vale Two Playing Field as this year’s edition closed.

It was a clash of the unbeaten as Kingstown had won Zone B and Belfongo, Zone A. Both came out of the quarter-finals and the semi finals undefeated.

Replying to Belfongo’s 135 for 6 off their 20 overs, Kingstown reached 138 for 7 in the 19th over, but not without a stutter.

Ancil Hooper hit 31, player of the final Joseph Carrington scored 30, Hollis John, 18 not out, and Winsbert Springer, 17, were the main contributors for Kingstown. Ellie Williams, 2 for 16, and Curtis King, 2 for 8, were the main wicket takers for Belfongo.

When Belongo batted, Aaron Bascombe struck 41, Cleus Robertson and Sylvannus Morgan both hit 26 and Tommy King, 23, as Lynton Greaves snared 2 for 39 and Colin Shoy, 2 for 7.

For their efforts, Kingstown earned the winner’s cheque of $1,200, the champions challenge trophy, along with a replica.

Belfongo carried away the $800 second prize and a trophy.

Orville Franklyn of North Leeward was the competition’s Most Valuable Player. He also scored the most runs – 348, inclusive of two centuries. Joseph Medford of Kingstown took the most wickets 17.

Carrington for one of his three stumpings also gained the award for the play of the day.

Medford also was one of two bowlers who took a hat trick. The other was his team mate Winsbert Springer.

Also rewarded were the century makers in Franklyn, who scored two, as well as former St. Vincent and the Grenadines and Windwards players Darnley Joseph and Gosnel Cupid, who scored one apiece.

Jerome Samuel, Sylvester Vanloo and Medford were the bowlers who captured five wickets or more in an innings.

Each of the fourteen participating teams’ Most Valuable Players was awarded with a medal. (RT)