Posted on

Date set for annual National Sports awards ceremony


Late in coming, almost forgotten, but the 2008 National Sports Council’s National Sports Awards will indeed take place.

The annual event, which recognises sporting achievement during the calendar year, will be staged Saturday, April 18, at the Arnos Playing Field.{{more}}

Manager of the National Sports Council (NSC), Osbourne Browne, told SEARCHLIGHT recently that part of the delay on hosting the ceremony, which most recently took place in the month of February, was because associations did not adhere to the initial deadlines for the submission of their nominations.

“Only one association had submitted its nominations by the first deadline date of December 31st last year,” Browne said.

He said that this tardiness caused further extensions of the deadline.

The NSC’s Manager also disclosed that with this hurdle mounted, things are falling into place for the annual Awards Ceremony, and guarantees the usual gallant effort to add panache to the occasion.

Browne stated that some of the burden of organising the event will be taken off his office’s administrative staff, as a special committee has been appointed to stage the Sports Awards.

The NSC Manager said that the area between the Double-Decker stand and the Press Box will be transformed into a setting worthy of a gala ceremony.

Browne, however, could not say whether the prize money for the top award of Sports Personality of the Year will be increased from US$1,000.

Many persons here have expressed the view that for such a prestigious accolade, a more tangible reward should be given to the recipient and that may be part of the lethargy shown towards the Awards Ceremony.

At the 2007 Awards Ceremony, netballer Saska Diamond was crowned Senior Sportswoman and went on to be the Sports Personality of the Year, awards she copped the previous year.

Like Diamond, James Bentick, was adjudged for the second year running, the Senior Sportsman. The Junior Sportsman of the Year title was cricketer Dawnley Grant.

Also at last year’s ceremony, Halima Michael, a Tennis player, walked away with the title of Junior Sportswoman. Basketballer Sophia Young secured the title of International Athlete of the Year. Junior Assing copped the award of Coach of the Year and the St. Vincent and the Grenadines Tennis Association collected the award for Association of the Year.

Also up for the taking are the Sports Photograph of the Year, the Sports Journalist of the Year and the Groundsman of the Year.

The NSC will again recognise individuals and firms which have contributed to the development of sports in St. Vincent and the Grenadines over the years. (RT)